Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan are Among the 2016 CMT Artists of the Year


CMT Artists of the Year

Country superstars Carrie Underwood, Florida Georgia Line, Chris Stapleton, Luke Bryan, and Thomas Rhett have been named the CMT Artists of the Year. The Country artists will be recognized during the 2016 CMT Artists of the Year special airing on October 20, 2016 at 9pm ET/PT. The seventh annual special, which will take place at Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center, will also honor Kelsea Ballerini as the Breakout Artist of the Year.

Carrie Underwood was also an Artist of the Year in 2010 and 2012. Florida Georgia Line earned the title in 2013, 2014, and 2015. By being named one of CMT’s Artists of the Year this year, Luke Bryan ties Jason Aldean’s record for the most wins. Bryan was also honored in 2012, 2013, 2014, and 2015. Both Thomas Rhett and Chris Stapleton are first-time honorees.

Kelsea Ballerini holds the record as the only female Country music artist to have her first three consecutive singles from a debut album hit the #1 spot on the Country music chart. “Peter Pan,” Ballerini’s third single off of her first album The First Time, currently sits atop the charts making her, according to Billboard, the first woman to ever earn the top spot on both the Top Hot Country Songs chart and the Country Airplay chart at the same time.

The 90 minute show airing on CMT will include never-before-seen performances. Additional details on celebrity performers and attendees will be announced closer to October 20th.


Comments are closed.