Argo Continues to Rake in the Wins

Ben Affleck in Argo
Ben Affleck stars in and directs 'Argo' - Photo © Warner Bros Pictures
If there was every any doubt Argo is the favorite to win the Best Picture Oscar at the 2013 Academy Awards, that doubt should now be erased. The gritty drama based on true events captured the Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures at the 2013 Producers Guild Awards held on January 26th, and a Producers Guild win is one of the leading indicators when predicting what film will be named Best Picture.
Affleck wasn’t even nominated for a Best Director Oscar and with each win he collects, that decision by Academy voters looks more and more ridiculous.
In addition to presenting awards in film, television, and digital media categories, members of the Producers Guild of America also recognized Bob and Harvey Weinstein with the Milestone Award, Tim Bevan and Eric Fellner with the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures, J.J. Abrams with the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television, Russell Simmons with a Visionary Award, and Bully received the Stanley Kramer Award.

Producers Guild 2013 Award Winners:

The Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:
ARGO (Warner Bros.)
Producers: Ben Affleck, George Clooney, Grant Heslov
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:
WRECK-IT RALPH (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)
Producer: Clark Spencer
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures:
SEARCHING FOR SUGAR MAN (Sony Pictures Classics)
Producers: Malik Bendjelloul, Simon Chinn
The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:
Game Change (HBO)
Producers: Gary Goetzman, Tom Hanks, Jay Roach, Amy Sayres, Steven Shareshian, Danny Strong
The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy:
Modern Family (ABC)
Producers: Cindy Chupack, Paul Corrigan, Abraham Higginbotham, Ben Karlin, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Jeff Morton, Dan O’Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Chris Smirnoff, Brad Walsh, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker
The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama:
Homeland (Showtime)
Producers: Henry Bromell, Alexander Cary, Michael Cuesta, Alex Gansa, Howard Gordon, Chip Johannessen, Michael Klick, Meredith Stiehm
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:
The Colbert Report (Comedy Central)
Producers: Meredith Bennett, Stephen Colbert, Richard Dahm, Paul Dinello, Barry Julien, Matt Lappin, Emily Lazar, Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition Television:
The Amazing Race (CBS)
Producers: Jerry Bruckheimer, Elise Doganieri, Jonathan Littman, Bertram van Munster, Mark Vertullo
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:
American Masters (PBS)
Producers: Prudence Glass, Susan Lacy, Julie Sacks
The Award for Outstanding Sports Program:
Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel (HBO)
The Award for Outstanding Children’s Program:
Sesame Street (PBS)
The Award for Outstanding Digital Series:
30 Rock: The Webisodes (
Complete List of Nominees
Source: Producers Guild of America

Follow Us On: