12 Years a Slave Wins Big with the Alliance of Women Film Journalists

Michael Fassbender and Chiwetel Ejiofor in '12 Years a Slave'
Michael Fassbender and Chiwetel Ejiofor in '12 Years a Slave' (Photo Courtesy of Fox Searchlight)
12 Years a Slave won six awards, earning Best Film, Best Director, and Best Screenplay honors from the Alliance of Women Film Journalists’ 8th Annual EDA Awards. The group, of which I’m a member, is comprised of leading women film journalists and critics and in addition to the normal ‘Best Of’ categories offers genre-based awards recognizing women in films. Among the women honored this year were Enough Said‘s writer/director Nicole Holofcener, Sandra Bullock as the best female action star for her work in Gravity, and Lupita Nyong’o for her breakthrough performance in 12 Years a Slave.


Best Film – 12 Years a Slave
Best Director – Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave
Best Screenplay, Original – Spike Jonze, Her
Best Screenplay, Adapted – John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave
Best Documentary – Stories We Tell
Best Animated Film – The Wind Rises
Best Actress – Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
Best Actress in a Supporting Role – Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave
Best Actor – Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club
Best Actor in a Supporting Role – Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club
Best Ensemble Cast – American Hustle
Best Editing – Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger, Gravity
Best Cinematography – Emmanuel Lubezki, Gravity
Best Film Music Or Score – Inside Llewyn Davis by T-Bone Burnett
Best Non-English-Language Film – The Hunt (Denmark)
Best Woman Director – Nicole Holofcener, Enough Said
Best Woman Screenwriter – Nicole Holofcener, Enough Said
Kick Ass Award For Best Female Action Star – Sandra Bullock, Gravity
Best Animated Female – Anna (Kristen Bell) in Frozen
Best Breakthrough Performance – Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years A Slave
Actress Defying Age and Ageism – Sandra Bullock, Gravity
AWFJ Award Female Icon Award
Presented to an actress for the portrayal of the most positive female role model, or for a role in which she takes personal and/or career risks to plumb the female psyche and therefore gives us courage to plumb our own, and/or for putting forth the image of a woman who is heroic, accomplished, persistent, demands her rights and/or the rights of others.
Angelina Jolie – for continued commitments to humanitarian causes, and for promoting awareness about breast cancer.
This Year’s Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film Industry
Presented only when warranted to a female who has had a banner-making, record-breaking, industry-changing achievement during any given year.
Haaifa Al-Mansour – for challenging the limitations placed on women within her culture by making the film Wadjda.
AWFJ Hall Of Shame Award – The Counselor
Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent – Cameron Diaz, The Counselor
Movie You Wanted To Love But Just Couldn’t Award – The Counselor
Unforgettable Moment Award – 12 Years a Slave – Solomon hanging
Best Depiction Of Nudity, Sexuality, or Seduction Award – Her with Scarlett Johansson and Joaquin Phoenix
Sequel or Remake That Shouldn’t Have Been Made Award (Tie) – Carrie and Oz, Great and Powerful
Most Egregious Age Difference Between The Leading Man and The Love Interest Award – Last Vegas – Michael Douglas and Bre Blair (36 years)
-Posted by Rebecca Murray

Follow Us On:

Stumble It!