Baltasar Kormakur Earns CinemaCon’s International Filmmaker Award

Baltasar Kormakur Earns International Filmmaker Award

Jake Gyllenhaal, Michael Kelly, and Josh Brolin in ‘Everest’ directed by Baltasar Kormakur (Photo by Jasin Boland © 2015 Universal Studios)

Director Baltasar Kormákur has been selected as the winner of the 2015 International Filmmaker of the Year award from CinemaCon. This year’s CinemaCon – the annual gathering of National Association of Theatre Owners (NATO) – will take place April 20th through April 23rd at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas, NV. Kormakur will receive his International Filmmaker of the Year honor on April 20th which has been designated as the convention’s international day.

“Since making his directorial debut Baltasar Kormákur has entertained global audiences, with his thrillingly intense movie making abilities,” said Mitch Neuhauser, Managing Director of CinemaCon. “His action-packed films keep moviegoers at the edge of their seat and Everest is sure to leave audiences riveted to the screen in anticipation of what will happen next. We couldn’t be more excited to honor him as CinemaCon’s 2015 International Filmmaker of the Year.”

Kormákur’s Everest stars Josh Brolin, Jason Clarke, John Hawke, Jake Gyllenhaal, Robin Wright and Keira Knightley and will open in theaters on September 18, 2015. His credits also include 101 Reykjavik, Contraband, and 2 Guns, and he’s developing the action adventure film Viking.

-By Rebecca Murray

Follow Us On:


Comments are closed.