Steven Soderbergh’s Contagion to Open the Zurich Film Festival

Matt Damon in Contagion
Matt Damon in 'Contagion' - © Warner Bros Pictures
The Steven Soderbergh thriller Contagion has been named the opening night film for the Zurich Film Festival (ZFF) taking place September 22 – October 2, 2011. Contagion, starring Matt Damon, Marion Cotillard, Bryan Cranston, Kate Winslet, Gwyneth Paltrow, Jude Law, and Laurence Fishburne, was written by Scott Z Burns and follows the spread of a deadly disease and the CDC’s attempt to combat the outbreak.
In addition to announcing Contagion‘s opening night selection, the ZFF revealed the members of the two juries charged with presiding over the international competition categories. Contagion‘s Laurence Fishburne was named Jury President for the Zurich Film Festival’s international section, and he’ll also be picking up a special achievement award. Academy Award-winner Sean Penn is the recipient of this year’s Golden Icon Award.

2011 Zurich Film Festival Jury Members

International Narrative Feature Jury:
Laurence Fishburne (Jury President)
John Lesher (US) Producer, former studio head and agent
Beki Probst (Turkey/Switzerland) director of the European Film Market (also decorated as Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres by French Cultural Minister)
Paprika Steen (Denmark), multi-award winning Actress, director, writer (Adam’s Apples, The Celebration, Applause)
Alice Eve (UK), Actress (leading roles in upcoming The Raven, Men in Black 3)
Stevan Arsenijevic (Serbia), Oscar-nominated young writer/director (Love and Other Crimes)
International Documentary Jury:
Charles Ferguson (USA), Academy Award-winning director, producer, writer (Inside Job)
John Battsek (UK), Producer (Sergio, Restrepo, Project Nim, The Tillman Story, One Day in September)
Nino Kirtadze (Georgia), director, writer (Durakovo: Village of Fools)
Eline Flipse (Netherlands), director, producer
Stephen Nemeth (US), Producer
Source: Zurich Film Festival – August 30, 2011