‘Critics’ Choice Awards’ Will Air on The CW in January 2019

24th Annual Critics' Choice Awards

The Critics’ Choice Awards are returning to The CW Network for the upcoming 24th annual awards show. The 2019 Critics’ Choice Awards will air live on the East Coast on January 13th beginning at 7pm. (The West Coast airing will be tape delayed.) This year’s star-studded awards show will take place at the Barker Hanger in Santa Monica, CA.

The annual awards show is put on by the Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA). BTJA and BFCA members cast their votes to recognize the best films, television shows, performances, and directorial achievements, as well as achievements in dozens of other categories.

“The BFCA and BTJA are delighted to continue our successful partnership with The CW,” stated BFCA President Joey Berlin, announcing the network partnership. “It is an adventurous and forward-looking broadcast network and a perfect home for the Critics’ Choice Awards. We look forward to presenting a fabulous celebration of the best of the best on screens of all sizes with our typically gigantic turnout of movie and television stars in the very heart of awards season.”

“We’re thrilled to serve once again as the exclusive home of the Critics’ Choice Awards, and to help honor some of the biggest stars in film and television,” commented Gaye Hirsch, Executive Vice President, Development, The CW. “The CCA is one of the most anticipated events in Hollywood, and we’re delighted to partner with the BFCA and BTJA again this year to share the star-studded celebration with our viewers.”

In addition to announcing The CW as the home of the 2019 awards, the BFCA and BTJA confirmed the timeline for nominations and final voting:

    December 3, 2018 – Nominating ballots go out to BFCA members
    December 7, 2018 – Deadline for returning nominating ballots
    December 10, 2018 – Critics’ Choice Awards Film nominations announced
    January 10, 2019 – Final ballots go out to BFCA members
    January 11, 2019 – Deadline for returning final ballots
    November 26, 2018 – Nomination Committees begin consideration
    December 7, 2018 – Nomination Committees render recommendations
    December 10, 2018 – Critics’ Choice Awards TV nominations announced
    January 10, 2019 – Final ballots go out to BTJA members
    January 11, 2019 – Deadline for returning final ballots

Last year’s show was hosted by The Predator star Olivia Munn. BFCA members selected The Shape of Water as the winner of four awards including Best Picture and Best Director. On the television side, Big Little Lies captured four awards including Best Limited Series and Best Actress in a Movie Made for TV or Limited Series for Nicole Kidman.

The Critics’ Choice Awards have historically been one of the best indicators of the Academy Awards nominations.