Critics’ Choice Awards Move to CW


Critics Choice Movie AwardsAfter years of being broadcast on VH1, the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards have moved to The CW. The 18th annual awards show will be broadcast on Thursday, January 10, 2013 live from Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, CA. The movie awards are voted on by the Broadcast Film Critics Association (of which I’m a member), the largest film critics group in the US and Canada.
”The BFCA is thrilled that our awards show has an exciting new broadcast partner that reaches the same audience that most frequently goes to the movies and will most enjoy our glamorous Hollywood party,” said Joey Berlin, President of the BFCA. “The CW is breaking out this fall and we expect The Critics’ Choice Movie Awards to help continue the network’s surge. With our big event falling on the very day that Oscar nominations are announced, we know everyone is going to be watching our star-studded celebration of the biggest and best movies of the year.”
“As host of the 18th Annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards, The CW gets the opportunity to throw one of the first major events of the Hollywood awards season with all of the biggest, A-list stars right here on our network,” added Thom Sherman, Executive Vice President, Development, The CW. “We’re working very closely with the BFCA to give this telecast a cool, current party vibe that both celebrates the year’s best films and fits perfectly with our young adult brand.”
Key Dates:
December 3, 2012 – Nominating ballots sent to BFCA members
December 9, 2012 – Deadline for returning nominating ballots
December 11, 2012 – Nominees announced
January 7, 2013 – Final ballots sent to BFCA members
January 8, 2013 – Deadline for returning final ballots
January 10, 2013 – Winners revealed during live telecast on The CW.
Source: CW and BFCA
Posted by Rebecca Murray


Leave A Reply