‘Hawaii Five-O’ Starts Season 6 with a Blessing

Hawaii Five-O Season 6 Starts Shooting

The tradition continues on the set of CBS’ Hawaii Five-O, with the start of a new season once again kicking off with a Hawaiian blessing. The cast and crew gathered at the start of the production on season six to take part in the traditional ceremony and to pay respect to the islands’ culture. Among the cast members who participated in the season six blessing ceremony were Alex O’Loughlin, Daniel Dae Kim, Grace Park, Chi McBride, Jorge Garcia, Teilor Grubbs, Dennis Chun, Ian Anthony Dale, Shawn Garnett and Christopher Sean.

According to CBS, the ceremony was officiated by Kahu (Officiant) Kordell Kekoa on July 8, 2015. Producers and crew members also were part of the blessing which centered around the Hawaiian word for six (‘eono).

The new season of the dramatic series kicks off on Friday, September 25, 2015 at 9pm ET/PT.

The Plot: Hawaii Five-O is a contemporary take on the classic series about a new elite federalized task force whose mission is to wipe out the crime that washes up on the Islands’ sun-drenched beaches. Detective Steve McGarrett, a decorated Naval officer-turned-cop, returned to Oahu to investigate his father’s murder and stayed after Hawaii’s former governor persuaded him to head up the new team: his rules, no red tape and full blanket authority to hunt down the biggest “game” in town. Joining McGarrett is Detective Danny “Danno” Williams, a relocated ex-New Jersey cop – a working man in paradise who prefers skyscrapers to the coastline – but who’s committed to keeping the Islands safe for his young daughter; Chin Ho Kelly, an ex-Honolulu police detective and former protégé of McGarrett’s father who was wrongly accused of corruption; Dr. Max Bergman, the quirky coroner; Chin’s cousin, Kono Kalakaua, a beautiful and fearless native; and Captain Lou Grover, who formerly headed Hawaii’s SWAT unit. Joining them is Jerry Ortega, a former classmate of Chin’s and the Island’s local conspiracy theorist. The state’s brash FIVE-0 unit, who may spar and jest among themselves, remain determined to eliminate the seedy elements from the 50th state.