Kenny Rogers Set for Lifetime Achievement Award

Kenny Rogers
Kenny Rogers (Photo Credit: Jay Fletcher)
Kenny Rogers will receive The Willie Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award at the 47th Annual CMA Awards to be held on November 6, 2013. Rogers, a Country Music Hall of Fame member, will be honored with a tribute by Jennifer Nettles, Rascal Flatts, and Darius Rucker.
“Kenny Rogers is a living legend and Country Music trailblazer,” stated Ed Hardy, President of the CMA Board of Directors. “He is more than deserving of this honor and what is sure to be a stellar tribute. He represents everything that this Award was intended to recognize when we initiated it last year with Willie.”
Last year marked the first time the Willie Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award was given out, with the first winner being Willie Nelson. The award honors “an iconic artist who has attained the highest degree of recognition in Country Music. The Award recognizes an artist who has achieved both national and international prominence and stature through concert performances, humanitarian efforts, philanthropy, record sales, and public representation at the highest level.”
Rogers has sold more than 120 million records over his 50 year career and has earned five CMA Awards (with 23 nominations).
In addition to announcing Rogers’ tribute, CMA also announced that Lady Antebellum and The Band Perry have been added to the list of performers and that Miranda Lambert and Keith Urban will team up to perform together. Previously announced performers include Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Florida Georgia Line, Hunter Hayes with Jason Mraz, Little Big Town, Tim McGraw, Kacey Musgraves, Paisley, Blake Shelton, Taylor Swift with Vince Gill & Alison Krauss, Carrie Underwood, and Zac Brown Band with Dave Grohl. Underwood and Brad Paisley will once again be handling the hosting duties (their sixth time as a hosting team).
Source: CMA
-Posted by Rebecca Murray

Follow Us On:

Stumble It!