Matt Smith, Claire Foy and John Lithgow Cast in ‘The Crown’


Claire Foy, Matt Smith and John Lithgow Star in The Crown

Doctor Who‘s Matt Smith, Claire Foy, and John Lithgow have signed on to star in Netflix’s The Crown, an original series written by Peter Morgan (The Queen). Stephen Daldry (Billy Elliot), Philip Martin, and Julian Jarrold (Kinky Boots, Becoming Jane) will be directing the dramatic series which focuses on Queen Elizabeth II, Duke of Edinburgh Philip Mountbatten, and Sir Winston Churchill.

Foy will play Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Smith is Mountbatten, and Lithgow was cast as Churchill. Morgan, Daldry, Martin, Andy Harries, Suzanne Mackie, Tanya Seghatchian, Robert Fox and Matthew Byam Shaw are executive producing.

According to the casting announcement, all 10 episodes of the series will debut on Netflix in 2016.

The Plot: The Crown tells the inside story of two of the most famous addresses in the world – Buckingham Palace and 10 Downing Street – and the intrigues, love lives and machinations behind the great events that shaped the second half of the 20th century. Two houses, two courts, one Crown.

Follow Us On:


Comments are closed.