‘Party of Five’ Reboot Earns a 10 Episode Order from Freeform

Party of Five Reboot Cast

The original Party of Five series creators Amy Lippman and Chris Keyser are on board as writers and executive producers of the reboot which just earned a series order from Freeform. The network has given the new take on the one-hour drama a 10 episode first season order.

Lippman and Keyser are joined on the writing team by Michal Zebede who also serves as a co-executive producer. Rodrigo Garcia directed the show’s pilot and executive produces.

Party of Five embodies the heart and soul of what it means to be a family in the most trying of times. We’re so lucky that Freeform gets to be the home for this reimagined story, as we continue to represent the resilience of young adults and the importance of fighting for your voice in times of doubt,” stated Tom Ascheim, president, Freeform. “We are thrilled to be able to share the groundbreaking storytelling from Amy and Chris with a new audience, and are excited for our viewers to discover the beauty of this series.”

“We couldn’t be more excited to bring Party of Five to another generation of fans. Amy, Chris and Michal’s distinct voice makes this series incredibly relatable and authentic. We are truly proud to be part of this journey,” said Jeff Frost, president, Sony Pictures Television and co-presidents Chris Parnell and Jason Clodfelter.

The original series ran for six seasons, beginning in 1994, and starred Scott Wolf, Matthew Fox, Neve Campbell, and Lacey Chabert. The cast of the reboot includes Brandon Larracuente (13 Reasons Why) as Emilio, Emily Tosta (Mayans M.C.) as Lucia, Niko Guardado (The Goldbergs) as Beto, and Elle Paris Legaspi (To My Family) as Valentina.

Freeform released the following synopsis of the reboot: “From Sony Pictures Television, the one-hour drama will follow the five Acosta children (fka Buendia) as they navigate daily life struggles to survive as a family unit after their parents are suddenly deported to Mexico.”