‘The Power of Six’ Book Details

The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore
The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

The 2011 sci-fi action drama I Am Number Four is based on the first in a series of books by Pittacus Lore (real name: James Frey) known as the Lorien Legacies. And before I Am Number Four hit theaters, it was thought the DreamWorks Pictures production would be the first film in a franchise based on Lore/Frey’s books. However, I Am Number Four failed to catch on with audiences, and it’s highly unlikely at this point that DreamWorks (or any studio, for that matter) will want to spend the $100 million-ish it would take to keep the franchise going with the second book of the series: The Power of Six.

Of course, the book series exists independent of any film versions, with the second book going on sale on August 23rd.

The Official The Power of Six Synopsis: In the beginning they were a group of nine. Nine aliens who left their home planet of Lorien when it fell under attack by the evil Mogadorians, who scattered on Earth and went into hiding, who look like ordinary teenagers, but who have extraordinary skills. The Mogadorians killed Number One, Number Two, and Number Three. They tried to kill Number Four, John Smith …and failed.

Following a massive battle at the end of I Am Number Four that proved that the Mogadorians have found him at last, John joined forces with Number Six. Now the fate of Lorien—and Earth— rests in the hands of these two teens. Already John and Six have inspired a fellow Lorien—Marina, Number Seven—who has been hiding in Spain. She’s been following the news of what’s happening in the US, and she’s certain it’s the sign she’s been waiting for.