‘Shameless’ is Renewed for Season 8

Shameless Renewed for Season 8

Showtime officially confirmed Shameless will return for an eighth season. The critically acclaimed series will begin production on season eight in 2017, with the upcoming season set to be comprised of 12 new one-hour episodes. Shameless wrapped up its seventh season on December 18, 2016 and now it appears that after Emmy Rossum completed her contract negotiations, the Gallaghers will definitely return for at least one more season.

Shameless is Showtime’s most successful comedy series and its seventh season was the show’s highest-rated, according to the network. Paul Abbott created the series and John Wells developed it for U.S. television, with Wells, Nancy M. Pimental, Christopher Chulack, Krista Vernoff, Etan Frankel and Sheila Callaghan executive producing the series’ just completed season seven. Bonanza Productions, John Wells Productions and Warner Bros. Television produce Shameless.

The Shameless cast is led by Emmy winner William H. Macy as Frank Gallagher and Golden Globe nominee Emmy Rossum as Fiona Gallegher. The cast also includes Jeremy Allen White (‘Lip’), Ethan Cutkosky (‘Carl’), Shanola Hampton (‘Veronica’), Steve Howey (‘Kevin’), Emma Kenney (‘Debbie’), Cameron Monaghan (‘Ian’), and Isidora Goreshter (‘Svetlana’). Noel Fisher, Chloe Webb, Sharon Lawrence, Tate Ellington, Ruby Modine, Arden Myrin, June Squibb, Alicia Coppola and Pasha Lychnikoff were recurring guest stars in season seven.

Where We Left Season 7: As season seven of Shameless came to an end, the Gallaghers dealt with the loss of one of their own, and grappled with mixed feelings about their grief. Fiona (Rossum) had to once again care for Frank (Macy) in his time of need, while Frank had a new scheme in mind.

Watch the Shameless season 7 interview video: