Smash is Renewed for Season 2

Smash Cast Photo
Brian d'Arcy James as Frank Houston, Jaime Cepero as Ellis, Christian Borle as Tom Levitt, Megan Hilty as Ivy Lynn, Raza Jaffrey as Dev Sundaram, Katharine McPhee as Karen Cartwright, Debra Messing as Julia Houston, Jack Davenport as Derek Wills, Anjelica Huston as Eileen Rand -- Photo by Mark Seliger/© NBCUniversal, Inc.
Smash will be back next year as NBC has announced it’s renewed the musical drama for another season. The rookie series has done well in the ratings, up 160% over NBC’s season average in the 18-49 demo in that same time period prior to its debut. According to the network, Smash has improved the viewership for that time spot from 3.9 million to 7.7 million.
The Story:
Smash celebrates the beauty and heartbreak of the Broadway theater as it follows a cross-section of dreamers and schemers who all have one common desire – to be a ‘Smash.’ Evolving from an idea of executive producer and multiple Emmy and Oscar winner Steven Spielberg (ER, Schindler’s List), the series unites the hit-making Broadway writing team of Julia Houston (Debra Messing) and Tom Levitt (Christian Borle) with producer Eileen Rand (Anjelica Huston) to create a new musical based on the life of Marilyn Monroe, and seasoned chorus girl Ivy Lynn (Megan Hilty) vies with newcomer Karen Cartwright (Katharine McPhee) for the role of a lifetime.”
The cast of Smash also includes Jack Davenport, Raza Jaffrey, Brian d’Arcy James, and Jaime Cepero.
Source: NBC – March 22, 2012