Independent Spirit Awards 2018 Nominees: ‘Call Me by Your Name’ Tops the List

The romantic drama Call Me by Your Name earned six 2018 Spirit Awards nominations as just announced by Film Independent. Additional films picking up multiple nominations include Good Time and Get Out with five each. Lady Bird and The Rider followed with four. Columbus, I, Tonya, and Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri were each nominated in three categories.

The 2018 Film Independent Spirit Awards recognize the best in independent films released in 2017, with more than 400 films submitted for consideration this year. Winners will be announced on Saturday, March 3, 2018 at 2pm PT/5pm ET during a live broadcast on IFC. Nick Kroll and John Mulaney are confirmed as the 2018 Spirit Awards hosts.

“This year’s nominations reflect the range and vitality of artist-driven, independent film,” stated Film Independent President Josh Welsh. “Diversity, innovation and uniqueness of vision are the hallmarks of the Film Independent Spirit Awards, and the films this year powerfully embody all those qualities.”

“We are so happy to have Ava DuVernay as our Spirit Awards Honorary Chair,” added Welsh, “Ava is a remarkable filmmaker – a writer, director and producer we have celebrated at the Spirit Awards and the LA Film Festival. More than that, she is a leader and a powerful voice for change, in the industry and beyond.”

2018 Film Independent Spirit Awards Nominees:

Call Me by Your Name
The Florida Project
Get Out
Lady Bird
The Rider

Ingrid Goes West
Oh Lucy!
Patti Cake$

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD – Given to the best feature made for under $500,000
A Ghost Story
Life and nothing more
Most Beautiful Island
The Transfiguration

Sean Baker – The Florida Project
Jonas Carpignano – A Ciambra
Luca Guadagnino – Call Me by Your Name
Jordan Peele – Get Out
Benny Safdie, Josh Safdie – Good Time
Chloé Zhao – The Rider

Greta Gerwig – Lady Bird
Azazel Jacobs – The Lovers
Martin McDonagh – Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri
Jordan Peele – Get Out
Mike White – Beatriz at Dinner

Donald Cried
The Big Sick
Women Who Kill
Ingrid Goes West

Thimios Bakatakis – The Killing of a Sacred Deer
Elisha Christian – Columbus
Hélène Louvart – Beach Rats
Sayombhu Mukdeeprom – Call Me by Your Name
Joshua James Richards – The Rider

Ronald Bronstein, Benny Safdie – Good Time
Walter Fasano – Call Me by Your Name
Alex O’Flinn – The Rider
Gregory Plotkin – Get Out
Tatiana S. Riegel – I, Tonya

Salma Hayek – Beatriz at Dinner
Frances McDormand – Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri
Margot Robbie – I, Tonya
Saoirse Ronan – Lady Bird
Shinobu Terajima – Oh Lucy!
Regina Williams – Life and nothing more

Timothée Chalamet – Call Me by Your Name
Harris Dickinson – Beach Rats
James Franco – The Disaster Artist
Daniel Kaluuya – Get Out
Robert Pattinson -Good Time

Holly Hunter – The Big Sick
Allison Janney – I, Tonya
Laurie Metcalf – Lady Bird
Lois Smith – Marjorie Prime
Taliah Lennice Webster – Good Time

Nnamdi Asomugha – Crown Heights
Armie Hammer – Call Me by Your Name
Barry Keoghan – The Killing of a Sacred Deer
Sam Rockwell – Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri
Benny Safdie – Good Time

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – Given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast
Director: Dee Rees
Casting Directors: Billy Hopkins, Ashley Ingram
Ensemble Cast: Jonathan Banks, Mary J. Blige, Jason Clarke, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Mitchell, Rob Morgan, Carey Mulligan

The Departure
Faces Places
Last Men in Aleppo

BPM (Beats Per Minute) – France
A Fantastic Woman – Chile
I Am Not a Witch – Zambia
Lady Macbeth – U.K.
Loveless – Russia

BONNIE AWARD – Bonnie Tiburzi Caputo joined American Airlines in 1973 at age 24, becoming the first female pilot to fly for a major U.S. airline. In her honor, the inaugural Bonnie Award will recognize a mid-career female director with a $50,000 unrestricted grant, sponsored by American Airlines.

So Yong Kim
Lynn Shelton
Chloé Zhao

JEEP TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 23rd annual Truer Than Fiction Award, funded by the Jeep brand, is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by the Jeep brand.

Shevaun Mizrahi
Director of Distant Constellation

Jonathan Olshefski
Director of Quest

Jeff Unay
Director of The Cage Fighter

KIEHL’S SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 24th annual Someone to Watch Award, funded by Kiehl’s Since 1851, recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Kiehl’s Since 1851.

Amman Abbasi
Director of Dayveon

Justin Chon
Director of Gook

Kevin Phillips
Director of Super Dark Times

PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 21st annual Producers Award, funded by Piaget, honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

Giulia Caruso & Ki Jin Kim
Ben LeClair
Summer Shelton

Call Me By Your Name Tops Spirit Awards Nominees List
Michael Stuhlbarg, Timothée Chalamet and Armie Hammer star in ‘Call Me by Your Name.’ (Photo Credit: Sony Pictures Classics)