Tom Hardy, Jared Leto, and Will Smith Head Up the Cast of ‘Suicide Squad’

Cast Announced for Warner Bros Suicide Squad
Tom Hardy at the Moet British Independent Film Awards (Photo by Ben A. Pruchnie / Getty Images for The Moet British Independent Film Awards)

After months of speculation and rumors, Warner Bros Pictures has confirmed the cast of Suicide Squad as well as revealing exactly who each actor will be playing. Per WB’s official announcement, Will Smith will play Deadshot, Tom Hardy is Rick Flagg, Margot Robbie will tackle the role of Harley Quinn, and Jared Leto will play the Joker. David Ayer (Fury) will be directing the action film based on the DC Comics. Ayer also penned the script.

The cast also includes Jai Courtney as Boomerang and Cara Delevingne as Enchantress.

“The Warner Bros. roots are deep on this one. David Ayer returns to the studio where he wrote Training Day and brings his incredible ability to craft multidimensional villains to this iconic DC property with a cast of longtime Warner collaborators Will Smith and Tom Hardy, and other new and returning favorites: Margot, Jared, Jai and Cara. We look forward to seeing this terrific ensemble, under Ayer’s amazing guidance, give new meaning to what it means to be a villain and what it means to be a hero,” stated Greg Silverman, President, Creative Development and Worldwide Production, Warner Bros. Pictures.

Zack Snyder, Deborah Snyder, Colin Wilson, and Geoff Johns are on board as executive producers.

Warner Bros Pictures is aiming for an August 5, 2016 theatrical release.

-By Rebecca Murray

Follow Us On: