FX Announces ‘Taboo’ Season 1’s Premiere Date

Taboo with Tom Hardy

FX has given the dramatic series Taboo a January 10, 2017 premiere date. The series was created by Steven Knight, Tom Hardy (Mad Max: Fury Road), and Chips Hardy and will air on Tuesdays at 10pm ET/PT. Tom Hardy leads the cast which includes Jonathan Pryce, Oona Chaplin, Stephen Graham, Michael Kelly, Jessie Buckley, David Hayman, Tom Hollander, Jason Watkins, Franka Potente, Jefferson Hall, Ed Hogg, Leo Bill, Christopher Fairbank, Richard Dixon, Mark Gatiss, Nicholas Woodeson, Lucian Msamati, and newcomer Robert Parker.

Hardy, Knight, Ridley Scott, Kate Crowe, and Dean Baker executive produce, with Scott Free and Hardy Son & Baker producing. Episodes one through four were directed by Kristoffer Nyholm. Episodes five through eight were helmed by Anders Engström. Taboo marks the third collaboration between Tom Hardy and Steven Knight following Peaky Blinders and Locke.

The Taboo Plot: Set in 1814, Taboo follows “James Keziah Delaney,” a man who has been to the ends of the earth and comes back irrevocably changed. Believed to be long dead, he returns home to London from Africa to inherit what is left of his father’s shipping empire and rebuild a life for himself. But his father’s legacy is a poisoned chalice, and with enemies lurking in every dark corner, James must navigate increasingly complex territories to avoid his own death sentence. Encircled by conspiracy, murder and betrayal, a dark family mystery unfolds in a combustible tale of love and treachery.