Lena Headey, Sigourney Weaver and Awkwafina Join ‘Dark Crystal’ Voice Cast

The Dark Crystal Lena Headey
Lena Headey voices Maudra in Netflix’s ‘The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance’

The voice cast of Netflix’s upcoming original series The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance has just expanded by six. Game of ThronesLena Headey joins to voice Maudra Fara and Sigourney Weaver (Avatar) has been cast to voice The Myth-Speaker. Awkwafina (Crazy Rich Asians) will voice The Collector, Benedict Wong (Avengers: Endgame) is The Collector, Hannah John-Kamen (Ant-Man and The Wasp) is Naia, and Dave Goelz is voicing the Fizzgig, Baffi.

“I am so grateful to this dedicated and gifted ensemble who has so beautifully voiced the characters performed by our puppeteers. Gathering such highly skilled performers was only possible because of their love and respect for Jim Henson’s work and his ongoing legacy,” said Louis Leterrier, Director and Executive Producer of The Dark Crystal prequel series.

Season one consists of 10 one-hour episodes directed by Louis Leterrier. Leterrier, Lisa Henson, and Halle Stanford serve as executive producers.

Netflix has set an August 30, 2019 premiere date.

The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance Plot, Voice Cast and Characters:

Based on The Dark Crystal, Jim Henson’s groundbreaking 1982 feature film, The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance tells a new story, set many years before the events of the movie, and realized using classic puppetry with cutting edge visual effects. The world of Thra is dying. The Crystal of Truth is at the heart of Thra, a source of untold power. But it is damaged, corrupted by the evil Skeksis, and a sickness spreads across the land. When three Gelfling uncover the horrific truth behind the power of the Skeksis, an adventure unfolds as the fires of rebellion are lit and an epic battle for the planet begins.

The Gelfling:

    Taron Egerton (Rocketman) as Rian
    Anya Taylor-Joy (The Witch) as Brea
    Nathalie Emmanuel (Game of Thrones) as Deet
    Caitriona Balfe (Outlander) as Tavra
    Helena Bonham Carter (The King’s Speech) as All-Maudra
    Harris Dickinson (Trust) as Gurjin
    Natalie Dormer (Game of Thrones) as Onica
    Eddie Izzard (Ocean’s Thirteen) as Cadia
    Theo James (The Divergent Series) as Rek’yr
    Toby Jones (Wayward Pines) as Librarian
    Shazad Latif (Star Trek: Discovery) as Kylan
    Gugu Mbatha-Raw (The Cloverfield Paradox) as Seladon
    Mark Strong (Kingsman) as Ordon
    Alicia Vikander (Tomb Raider) as Mira

The Skeksis & Mystics:

    Harvey Fierstein (Torch Song Trilogy) as The Gourmand
    Mark Hamill (Child’s Play, Star Wars) as The Scientist
    Ralph Ineson (Game of Thrones) as The Hunter
    Jason Isaacs (The OA) as The Emperor
    Keegan-Michael Key (Toy Story 4) as The Ritual Master
    Ólafur Darri Ólafsson (True Detective) as The Archer
    Simon Pegg (Mission Impossible) as The Chamberlain
    Andy Samberg (Brooklyn Nine Nine) as The Heretic

Aughra will be voiced by Donna Kimball (The Happytime Murders). Alice Dinnean is The Ornamentalist, Louise Gold is Maudra Argot, Neil Sterenberg is The Scroll-Keeper, and Victor Yerrid voices Hup.