T.J. Miller Will Host the 2016 Critics’ Choice Awards

TJ Miller
TJ Miller attends Walt Disney Studios’ 2014 New York Comic Con presentations of “Big Hero 6” and “Tomorrowland”(Photo by Stephen Lovekin / Getty Images for Disney)

Silicon Valley‘s T.J. Miller has been tapped to host the 21st Annual Critics’ Choice Awards set to take place on Sunday, January 17, 2016 in Santa Monica, CA. The 2016 Critics’ Choice Awards will air on A&E, Lifetime and LMN and, for the first time, will combine the Critics’ Choice Television Awards with the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards.

Announcing Miller as host, BFCA/BTJA President Joey Berlin said, “We are so excited with the new direction that this year’s show is taking, combining the film and television awards. We are confident that T.J.’s infectious energy will help carry that excitement not only in the room, but also to viewers watching at home.”

Miller is a stand-up comedian, musician, podcaster, and actor. His acting credits include the upcoming Deadpool as well as How to Train Your Dragon 2, Cloverfield, Get Him to the Greek, and Seeking for a Friend for End of the World.

The Critics Choice Awards are voted on by the Broadcast Film Critics Association* (BFCA) and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) and recognize the best in television and films of all genres and budget levels. The nominations will be announced on Monday, December 14, 2015 at 10AM ET/7AM PT.

Per the BFCA and BTJA: “The Critics’ Choice Awards are bestowed annually by the BFCA and BTJA to honor the finest in cinematic and television achievement. The BFCA is the largest film critics’ organization in the United States and Canada, representing more than 300 television, radio and online critics. BFCA members are the primary source of information for today’s film-going public. BTJA is the collective voice of almost 100 journalists who regularly cover television for TV viewers, radio listeners and online audiences. Historically, the Critics’ Choice Awards are the most accurate predictor of the Academy Award nominations.”

* – I am a member of the BFCA.