Box Office Report: ‘Wonder Woman’ Smashes Records

Wonder Woman stars Gal Gadot and Chris Pine
Chris Pine and Gal Gadot star in ‘Wonder Woman’ (Photo by Clay Enos © Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. and Ratpac-Dune Entertainment LLC)

The first Wonder Woman standalone feature film posted a spectacular opening weekend, ringing up $223 million worldwide and setting new box office records. Warner Bros. Pictures’ Wonder Woman starring Gal Gadot earned rave reviews from critics (Rotten Tomatoes has it at 93% fresh) and audiences alike, with CinemaScore reporting ticket buyers have awarded it an average score of “A.” The PG-13 action adventure film’s box office take reflects the film’s positive word-of-mouth over its first weekend, with Wonder Woman snagging the title of the highest June opening for a superhero movie. According to Warner Bros, Wonder Woman is now the highest earning female-lead superhero movie and the biggest June release in history for a Warner Bros feature film.

Directed by Patty Jenkins, Wonder Woman grossed $100.5 million domestically which moved it into 1st place among films from female directors, pushing Fifty Shades of Grey into second. In addition to Gadot in the title role, the cast includes Chris Pine, Robin Wright, Danny Huston, David Thewlis, Connie Nielsen, Elena Anaya, Ewen Bremner, Lucy Davis, Lisa Loven Kongsli, Said Taghmaoui, and Eugene Brave Rock.

“We’re incredibly proud of Wonder Woman and thrilled that it has resonated with critics and moviegoers everywhere. This is a film that’s perfect for our time; hopeful and inspiring, as well as a hugely entertaining adventure—it transcends the genre. Patty Jenkins and her exceptional cast and crew—led by the incomparable Gal Gadot—delivered a Wonder Woman that is true to the aspirational hero. We congratulate everyone involved in bringing it to the screen on this tremendous success,” stated Sue Kroll, President of Worldwide Marketing and Distribution, Warner Bros. Pictures.

Box Office Top 10: June 2-4, 2017

  1. Wonder Woman – $100,505,000
  2. Captain Underpants: The First Epic Movie – $23,500,000
  3. Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales – $21,613,000
  4. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 – $8,733,000
  5. Baywatch – $8,500,000
  6. Alien: Covenant – $4,000,000
  7. Everything, Everything – $3,320,000
  8. Snatched – $1,340,000
  9. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul – $1,220,000
  10. King Arthur: Legend of the Sword – $1,170,000