‘Murphy Brown’ Series Preview: Plot Details, Cast Info and Premiere Date

Candice Bergen steps back into the shoes of Murphy Brown with the return of the critically acclaimed, Emmy Award-winning series. Bergen’s surrounded by her co-stars from the original series in the 2018 revival of the half-hour comedy that aired for 10 seasons beginning in 2008.

Joining Candice Bergen in the 2018 return of Murphy Brown are Faith Ford as Corky Sherwood, Joe Regalbuto as Frank Fontana, Grant Shaud as Miles Silverberg, Jake McDorman as Avery Brown, Nik Dodani as Pat Patel, and Tyne Daly as Phyllis. Diane English created the series and returns to guide the show’s 11th season.

Murphy Brown season 11 is set to take its spot on CBS’s primetime lineup on September 27, 2018. The series will air on Thursdays at 9:30pm ET/PT.

The Murphy Brown Plot:

Multiple Emmy Award winners Candice Bergen and series creator Diane English reunite for Murphy Brown, the revival of the ground-breaking comedy about the eponymous broadcast news legend and her biting take on current events, now in a world of 24-hour cable, social media, “fake news” and a vastly different political climate. Amid a divided nation, chaotic national discourse and rampant attacks on the press, Murphy decides to return to the airwaves and recruits her FYI team: lifestyle reporter Corky Sherwood, investigative journalist Frank Fontana, and her former wunderkind news producer Miles Silverberg. Joining them is social media director Pat Patel, who is tasked with bringing Murphy and the team into the 21st century.

Murphy’s millennial son, Avery, shares his mother’s competitive spirit and quick wit, and is following in her journalistic footsteps – perhaps too closely. The team still lets off steam at Phil’s Bar, now run by his sister, Phyllis. Now back in the game, Murphy is determined to draw the line between good television and honest reporting, proving that the world needs Murphy Brown now more than ever.

More on Murphy Brown:
Interview with Candice Bergen

Murphy Brown Candice Bergen and Cast
Nik Dodani, Grant Shaud, Jake McDorman, Tyne Daly, Faith Ford, Candice Bergen, and Joe Regalbuto star in ‘Murphy Brown’ (Photo: Robert Tractenberg © 2018 CBS Broadcasting, Inc)
Murphy Brown star Candice Bergen
Candice Bergen as Murphy Brown (Photo: Cliff Lipson © 2018 CBS Broadcasting, Inc.)
Murphy Brown star Grant Shaud
Grant Shaud as Miles Silverberg (Photo: Cliff Lipson © 2018 CBS Broadcasting, Inc)
Murphy Brown star Faith Ford
Faith Ford as Corky Sherwood (Photo: Cliff Lipson © 2018 CBS Broadcasting, Inc)
Murphy Brown star Joe Regalbuto
Joe Regalbuto as Frank Fontana (Photo: Cliff Lipson © 2018 CBS Broadcasting, Inc)
Murphy Brown star Tyne Daly
Tyne Daly as Phyllis (Photo: Michele Crowe © 2018 CBS Broadcasting, Inc)
Murphy Brown star Jake McDorman
Jake McDorman as Avery Brown (Photo: Robert Trachtenberg © 2018 CBS Broadcasting, Inc)
Murphy Brown star Nik Dodani
Nik Dodani as Pat Patel (Photo: Cliff Lipson © 2018 CBS Broadcasting, Inc)