Ben Stiller Honored by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts

Ben Stiller at the Knocked Up Premiere
Ben Stiller - Photo © Richard Chavez
Ben Stiller, soon to be seen in the ensemble comedy Tower Heist, has been chosen by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts Los Angeles® (BAFTA Los Angeles) as the winner of the Charlie Chaplin Britannia Award for Excellence in Comedy. Stiller will be presented with his award at the 2011 BAFTA Los Angeles Britannia Awards on Wednesday, November 30th in Beverly Hills.
Per BAFTA, the Britannia Awards are the group’s highest honor, “a celebration of achievements honoring individuals and companies that have dedicated their careers or corporate missions to advancing the entertainment arts.”
“Ben Stiller is a master of comedy who, just like the legendary filmmaker for whom this award is named, embodies the remarkable multi-hyphenate talents of actor, writer, director and producer,” said Nigel Lythgoe, Chairman of BAFTA Los Angeles. “Having worked with him personally on a couple of ‘Idol Gives Back’ shows, I am more than delighted that BAFTA Los Angeles has selected him to join our other 2011 distinguished honorees to receive this outstanding honor.”
Also receiving awards at the November 30th event will be Helena Bonham Carter, winner of the Britannia Award for British Artist of the Year, and Chief Creative Officer of Walt Disney and Pixar Animation Studios John Lasseter who was selected to be the recipient of the Britannia Award for Worldwide Contribution to Filmed Entertainment. David Yates, director of the last four Harry Potter films, will be recognized with the John Schlesinger Britannia Award for Excellence in Directing.
Alan Cumming is the event’s Master of Ceremonies.
More on the Britannia Awards:
The first Britannia Award was presented to Albert R. “Cubby” Broccoli, pioneer producer of the James Bond films. Since the awards were first created in1989 Britannia Awards have been given to Michael Caine, Tom Cruise, Robert De Niro, Clint Eastwood, Colin Firth, Tom Hanks, Dustin Hoffman, Anthony Hopkins, the late Stanley Kubrick (in whose name an award is now given), George Lucas, Sean Penn, Steven Spielberg, Martin Scorsese, Dame Elizabeth Taylor, Chris Nolan, Emily Blunt, Sean Penn, Dame Helen Mirren, Kate Winslet and Denzel Washington.
Source: BAFTA Los Angeles – August 23, 2011