39 Clues Author Launches New Seven Wonders Book Series

Seven Wonders The Colossus Rises
Photo © HarperCollins Publishers

Bestselling author Peter Lerangis (three of The 39 Clues books) has another book series in the works. HarperCollins Publishers will release the first book of Seven Wonders, a seven book series, in February 2013 followed by a new book every nine months. Seven weeks prior to each hardcover release, original novellas will debut beginning in December 2012. Book number one, Seven Wonders: The Colossus Rises, will arrive on February 5, 2013.
And coming in December 2012, readers of the Seven Wonders will be able to visit the online site and get more involved in the world created in the book series. Per HarperCollins, the www.sevenwondersbooks.com site will let visitors:
— Explore an interactive map of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World
— Watch videos featuring Seven Wonders clips for tweens and educators
— Download original ebooks and world-building activities
— Discover early chapter reveals and series teasers
— Meet Peter Lerangis on a dedicated author page and hear all about his nationwide tour in February 2013
— Register for Seven Wonders e-newsletter alerts
Labeled a ‘tween series’, the Seven Wonders is “about four friends on an epic quest to unlock the secrets of an ancient world.”
“It’s the story of a lifetime,” said Lerangis, describing the series. “A combustible mix of ordinary kids thrown into an extraordinary world of mystical settings, history, humor, science, odd characters, and a barefoot burping giant named Torquin. I am having way too much fun writing this series. I can’t wait for readers across the world to discover Seven Wonders.”
Susan Katz, president and publisher of HarperCollins Children’s Books, said, “With Seven Wonders, Peter has created a new series filled with adventure and excitement that’s perfect for young readers.”
The Plot of Book #1:
The Colossus Rises begins just before thirteen-year-old Jack McKinley is brought to a mysterious hospital as a captive of a secret organization. Told he has a rare genetic disorder that will soon kill him, Jack realizes he has one hope and one hope only: help the organization retrieve seven magical objects that have been lost among the ruins of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World for thousands of years. With little hope left and only each other to turn to, Jack and his three newfound friends have no choice but to undertake the impossible adventure. First stop: the Colossus of Rhodes, where they quickly realize that there’s much more at stake than just their lives.
The Select, a prequel to the Seven Wonders series, will be released as a free original ebook on December 18, 2012. It traces the story of thirteen-year-old Burt Wenders, as told through his recently unearthed journal. Burt is the first-known carrier of the same genetic disorder afflicting Jack, and The Select is the tale of his adventures over serpent-infested waters and through beast-filled jungles in a vain attempt to find a cure. It’s a stirring first-person account of one kid’s heroic struggle to save himself–and the first installment of an adventure greater than Burt could have ever imagined.

Source: HarperCollins Publishers