2016’s Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductees Include Chicago and Cheap Trick

Chicago Band Photo

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has selected five inductees who will be added to the Hall in 2016. Cheap Trick, Chicago, Deep Purple, N.W.A., and Steve Miller were voted in by the 800+ voters of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation and will be recognized during the 31st Annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on April 8, 2016 in Brooklyn, New York. HBO will be filming the ceremony for broadcast in the spring of 2016.

In order to be eligible for consideration, artists must wait 25 years after their first recording. Deep Purple and Steve Miller were eligible in 1993. Chicago became eligible in 1994 with Cheap Trick’s 25 year anniversary coming in 2002. N.W.A. was eligible as of 2012. Deep Purple was listed on the ballot in 2013, 2014, 2016 and N.W.A. made the ballot in 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2016. This year marked Cheap Trick, Chicago, and Steve Miller’s first time on the ballot.

Tickets for the ceremony will go on sale in February 2016.