‘Vikings’ Fans Will Have More Episodes to Enjoy in Season 4

Vikings Season 4 Cast Banner

History not only announced the fourth season premiere date for Vikings but also announced the upcoming season will consist of more episodes than seasons one through three. The network’s just upped the season four order from 16 episodes to 20 and confirmed the new season will premiere on February 18, 2016 at 10pm ET/PT. History’s also revealed that the first 10 episodes will air once a week for 10 weeks and the second batch of 10 episodes will be held to run later in 2016.

Michael Hirst created the series and writes each episode. Hirst also executive produces along with Morgan O’Sullivan, Sheila Hockin, John Weber, Sherry Marsh, Alan Gasmer and James Flynn. The series stars Travis Fimmel, Katheryn Winnick, Clive Standen, Gustaf Skarsgard, Alexander Ludwig, Alyssa Sutherland, and Ben Robson. Joining the cast for season four are Peter Franzen, Jasper Paakkonen, and Dianne Doan. Franzen will play King Harold Finehair, a complex character who seeks to be King of Norway and a potential threat to Ragnar. Paakkonen is Halfdan The Black, the violent younger brother of King Harold. Doan is on board to play Yidu, a completely different character within the world of the Vikings who fascinates Ragnar.

A Look Back at Season Three:

“Season three culminated with the extraordinary battle in Paris, where Ragnar (Travis Fimmel) seized victory from the jaws of defeat – but still returns to Kattegat dangerously ill. Thoughts of his death galvanize the forces who seek to succeed him as king, including his wife Queen Aslaug (Alyssa Sutherland) and his oldest son, Bjorn (Alexander Ludwig). Meanwhile, Lagertha (Katheryn Winnick) continues power struggles with her calculating, former second in command, Kalf (Ben Robson); Rollo (Clive Standen) betrays his Vikings heritage by remaining in Frankia and Floki (Gustaf Skarsgård) is seized for his brutal actions to the Christian priest Athelstan.”