Broadcast Television Journalists Love Homeland and Breaking Bad

Damian Lewis and Claire Danes in Homeland
Damian Lewis as Nicholas "Nick" Brody and Claire Danes as Carrie Mathison in 'Homeland' - Photo: Kent Smith/ Copyright: Showtime 2011
The Broadcast Television Journalists Association (a part of the Broadcast Film Critics Association) revealed the winners of the 2012 Critics’ Choice Television Awards and it wasn’t much of a surprise that critical darlings Homeland and Breaking Bad won in the dramatic categories while Modern Family, Community and Sherlock took home top honors in the comedy categories. The star-studded gathering of critics and celebs took place at the Beverly Hilton on June 18th, with Beth Behrs, Chris Colfer, Josh Dallas, Emily Deschanel, Patrick Duffy, Donald Faison, Sharon Gless, Ginnifer Goodwin, Josh Hopkins, Stana Katic, Cloris Leachman, Robert Patrick, Sarah Paulson, Busy Philipps, Hannah Simone, Kate Walsh and Shane West on hand to present trophies to the winners.

Among the nominees in attendance were Gillian Anderson, Julie Bowen, Alison Brie, Ty Burrell, Kevin Costner, Don Cheadle, Cat Deeley, Zooey Deschanel, Garret Dillahunt, Giancarlo Esposito, Max Greenfield, Anna Gunn, Christina Hendricks, Cheryl Hines, Charlie Hunnam, Gillian Jacobs, Phil Keoghan, Regina King, Lucy Liu, Justin Long, Joel McHale, Julianne Moore, John Noble, Nick Offerman, Aaron Paul, Carrie Preston, Danny Pudi, Ashley Rickards, Emmy Rossum, Katey Sagal, Eden Sher, Maggie Siff, RuPaul, Damon Wayans Jr., Chloe Webb and Casey Wilson.

2nd Annual Critics’ Choice Television Awards Winners:

Best Drama Series

Homeland – Showtime

Best Actor in a Drama Series

Bryan Cranston – Breaking Bad – AMC

Best Actress in a Drama Series

Claire Danes – Homeland – Showtime

Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

Giancarlo Esposito – Breaking Bad – AMC

Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

Christina Hendricks – Mad Men – AMC

Best Guest Performer in a Drama Series

Lucy Liu – Southland – TNT

Best Reality Series

Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations – Travel Channel

Best Reality Series – Competition

The Voice – NBC

Best Reality Show Host – TIE

Tom Bergeron – Dancing with the Stars – ABC

Cat Deeley – So You Think You Can Dance – FOX

Best Talk Show

Late Night with Jimmy Fallon – NBC

Best Comedy Series

Community – NBC

Best Actor in a Comedy Series

Louis C.K. – Louie – FX

Best Actress in a Comedy Series – TIE

Zooey Deschanel – New Girl – FOX

Amy Poehler – Parks and Recreation – NBC

Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

Ty Burrell – Modern Family – ABC

Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy

Julie Bowen – Modern Family – ABC

Best Guest Performer in a Comedy Series

Paul Rudd – Parks and Recreation – NBC

Best Animated Series

Archer – FX

Best Movie/Miniseries

Sherlock – PBS

Best Actor in a Movie/Miniseries

Benedict Cumberbatch – Sherlock – PBS

Best Actress in a Movie/Miniseries

Julianne Moore – Game Change – HBO

Most Exciting New Series

The Following (Fox/Warner Bros.)

The Mindy Project (Fox/Universal)

Nashville (ABC/Lionsgate)

The Newsroom (HBO)

Political Animals (USA/Warner Bros.)

[Complete list of nominees available here]

Source: BTJA