Cinematographers Announce Their Picks for 2013’s Best Work in Films

Prisoners Movie Review
Hugh Jackman and Paul Dano star in 'Prisoners' (Photo © Warner Bros Pictures)
The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) revealed their nominees for the best of 2013 in feature films, with the winner to be announced at an awards ceremony on February 1, 2014. This year’s list is a rarity as members of the ASC normally select the work of five cinematographers to consider for the award. However, a three-way tie increased the number of nominees this year to seven.
“Our members believe these cinematographers have set the contemporary standard for artful, theatrical motion picture cinematography,” stated ASC President Richard Crudo. “They have mastered a complex craft which contributes vitally to the storytelling process, and augments the intentions of everyone involved with the production.”
• Sean Bobbitt, BSC for 12 Years a Slave
• Barry Ackroyd, BSC for Captain Phillips
• Philippe Le Sourd for The Grandmaster
• Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC for Gravity
• Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC for Inside Llewyn Davis
• Phedon Papamichael, ASC for Nebraska
• Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for Prisoners
Stats on the Nominees [Courtesy of ASC]
This year’s nomination brings Deakins’ total to 12. He won last year for Skyfall, and previously for The Shawshank Redemption (1995) and The Man Who Wasn’t There (2002). His other nominations were for Fargo (1997), Kundun (1998), O Brother, Where Art Thou? (2001), No Country for Old Men (2008), The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford (2008), Revolutionary Road (2009), The Reader (2009) and True Grit (2011). He was also the recipient of the organization’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011.
Lubezki has won ASC Awards for The Tree of Life (2012) and Children of Men (2007), and was also nominated in 2000 for Sleepy Hollow.
Delbonnel earned top honors for A Very Long Engagement (2005), as well as a nomination for Amélie (2002).
Ackroyd was previously nominated for The Hurt Locker (2010).
Papamichael earned previous nominations in the television movie and miniseries category for White Dwarf (1996) and Wild Palms (1994), respectively.
This is the first ASC nomination for Bobbitt and Le Sourd.
Source: American Society of Cinematographers
-Posted by Rebecca Murray

Follow Us On:

Stumble It!