FX Renews ‘American Horror Story’ For Seasons 8 and 9

American Horror Story Roanoke star Sarah Paulson
Sarah Paulson as Shelby in ‘American Horror Story: Roanoke’ (Photo by Frank Ockenfels / Copyright 2016 FX Networks)

FX announced they’ve renewed American Horror Story for seasons eight and nine. American Horror Story is coming off one of its best reviewed and highest rated seasons to date, with season six – AHS: Roanoke – ranking as 2016’s #1 limited/mini-series on cable. Season six also earned the number three spot out of 215 cable scripted series.

The network previously announced the show would return for a seventh season which will air in 2017.

American Horror Story launched the modern limited series revolution and – as evidenced by the most recent installment ‘Roanoke’ – it remains as vital today as when Murder House stunned audiences six years ago,” stated John Landgraf, CEO of FX Networks and FX Productions. “Each new chapter is a cultural event, beloved for every new twist in imagery, style, cast and plot. We are thrilled that Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk and the entire creative team will continue to deliver the groundbreaking, celebrated American Horror Story for years to come.”

“When Ryan and Brad came to us seven years ago with the idea for a horror series structured as an anthology, with a group of actors returning year after year, in different roles, settings and time periods, we were in awe of the sheer originality and ambition of their vision,” said Fox Television Group Chairmen and CEOs Dana Walden and Gary Newman. “They’ve since delivered six fantastic installments which have rightfully attracted millions of viewers, critical raves and dozens of awards. Ryan and Brad are to be congratulated on this remarkable multi-year pickup and we are grateful to John Landgraf and our partners at FX for their extraordinary support.”

American Horror Story was created by Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk. Murphy and Falchuk haven’t confirmed which members of the AHS ensemble that includes Kathy Bates, Sarah Paulson, Angela Bassett, Denis O’Hare, and Evan Peters will return for the upcoming seventh season. (Updated: Ryan Murphy confirmed Paulson and Peters are in season seven.)