Argo, Breaking Bad Win WGA Awards

Writers Guild Awards LogoThe Writers Guild of America revealed the winners of their 2013 WGA awards on February 17, 2013, recognizing the best writing in movies, television, radio, and videogames at gala events held simultaneously in LA (hosted by Nathan Fillion) and New York City (hosted by Richard Kind).


ORIGINAL SCREENPLAYZero Dark Thirty, Written by Mark Boal
ADAPTED SCREENPLAYArgo, Screenplay by Chris Terrio
DOCUMENTARY SCREENPLAYSearching for Sugar Man, Written by Malik Bendjelloul;

DRAMA SERIESBreaking Bad, Written by Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Gennifer Hutchison, George Mastras, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett
COMEDY SERIESLouie, Written by Pamela Adlon, Vernon Chatman, Louis C.K.
NEW SERIESGirls, Written by Judd Apatow, Lesley Arfin, Lena Dunham, Sarah Heyward, Bruce Eric Kaplan, Jenni Konner, Deborah Schoeneman, Dan Sterling
EPISODIC DRAMA – “The Other Woman” (Mad Men), Written by Semi Chellas and Matthew Weiner
EPISODIC COMEDY – “Virgin Territory” (Modern Family), Written by Elaine Ko
LONG FORM – ORIGINALHatfields & McCoys, Nights Two and Three, Teleplay by Ted Mann and Ronald Parker, Story by Bill Kerby and Ted Mann
LONG FORM – ADAPTEDGame Change, Written by Danny Strong, Based on the book by Mark Halperin and John Heilemann
ANIMATION – “Ned ’N’ Edna’s Blend Agenda” (The Simpsons), Written by Jeff Westbrook
COMEDY / VARIETY (INCLUDING TALK) – SERIESPortlandia, Writers: Fred Armisen, Carrie Brownstein, Karey Dornetto, Jonathan Krisel, Bill Oakley
COMEDY / VARIETY – MUSIC, AWARDS, TRIBUTES – SPECIALS66th Annual Tony Awards, Written by Dave Boone; Special Material by Paul Greenberg; Opening and Closing Songs by David Javerbaum, Adam Schlesinger
DAYTIME DRAMAThe Young and the Restless, Written by Amanda Beall, Jeff Beldner, Susan Dansby, Janice Ferri Esser, Jay Gibson, Scott Hamner, Marla Kanelos, Natalie Minardi Slater, Beth Milstein, Michael Montgomery, Anne Schoettle, Linda Schreiber, Sarah K. Smith, Christopher J. Whitesell, Teresa Zimmerman
CHILDREN’S – EPISODIC & SPECIALS – “The Good Sport” (Sesame Street); Written by Christine Ferraro
CHILDREN’S – LONG FORM OR SPECIALGirl vs. Monster, Teleplay by Annie DeYoung and Ron McGee, Story by Annie DeYoung
DOCUMENTARY – CURRENT EVENTS – “Money, Power and Wall Street: Episode One” (Frontline), Written by Martin Smith and Marcela Gaviria
DOCUMENTARY – OTHER THAN CURRENT EVENTS – “The Fabric of the Cosmos: The Illusion of Time” (Nova), Telescript by Randall MacLowry, Story by Joseph McMaster and Randall MacLowry
NEWS – REGULARLY SCHEDULED, BULLETIN, OR BREAKING REPORT – “Tragedy In Colorado: The Movie Theatre Massacre,” Written by Lisa Ferri, Joel Siegel
NEWS – ANALYSIS, FEATURE, OR COMMENTARY – “The Ghost of Joe McCarthy” (Moyers & Company), Written by Bill Moyers, Michael Winship

NEWS – REGULARLY SCHEDULED OR BREAKING REPORT – “World News This Year 2011,” Written by Darren Reynolds; ABC News Radio
NEWS – ANALYSIS, FEATURE, OR COMMENTARY – “Dishin Digital,” Written by Robert Hawley; WCBS-AM

ON-AIR PROMOTION (RADIO OR TELEVISION) – “Partners,” Written by Dan A. Greenberger; CBS
TELEVISION GRAPHIC ANIMATION – “The Oscars” (Sunday Morning with Charles Osgood), Animation by Bob Pook; CBS

OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT IN VIDEOGAME WRITING – Assassin’s Creed III: Liberation, Scriptwriting by Richard Farrese, Jill Murray; Ubisoft

OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT IN WRITING ORIGINAL NEW MEDIA – “The Compromises, Episode 1,” “The Pest, Episode 3,” The Snake, Episode 4,” “The Bonding, Episode 6,” “The Future, Episode 7/Series Finale” (Jack in a Box), Written by Michael Cyril Creighton;
OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT IN WRITING DERIVATIVE NEW MEDIA – “Hide And Seek,” “Keys to the Kingdom,” “The Chosen Ones,” “Parting Shots” (The Walking Dead: Cold Storage), Written by John Esposito;
Source: WGA

Follow Us On: