Costume Designers Announce Nominees for the Best of 2015 in Films and TV

Cinderella Richard Madden and Lily James

Richard Madden and Lily James in ‘Cinderella’ (Photo © 2014 Disney Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved)

The Costume Designers Guild just announced the nominees for their 18th Costume Designers Guild Awards (CDGA) recognizing the best costume designs featured in films and on television. Winners will be announced on February 23, 2016 at a special awards ceremony in Beverly Hills, CA.

In addition to announcing the nominees in the competitive categories, the Costume Designers Guild confirmed Oscar winner Cate Blanchett will be given the LACOSTE Spotlight Award and The Hateful Eight filmmaker Quentin Tarantino has earned the group’s Distinguished Collaborator Award “in recognition of his support of Costume Design and creative partnerships with Costume Designers.” Costume Designer Ellen Mirojnick will be honored with the Honorary Career Achievement Award and Master Dyer Edwina Pellikka earned the Distinguished Service Award.

“I would like to congratulate all of the nominees of the 18th Costume Designers Guild Awards. We look forward to celebrating the work of our members as well as this year’s honorees at our awards gala on February 23rd,” stated Salvador Perez, President of the Costume Designers Guild Local #892.

Costume Designers Guild Award Nominees:

Excellence in Contemporary Film
Beasts of No Nation – Jenny Eagan
Joy – Michael Wilkinson
Kingsman: The Secret Service – Arianne Phillips
The Martian – Janty Yates
Youth – Carlo Poggioli

Excellence in Period Film
Brooklyn – Odile Dicks-Mireaux
Carol – Sandy Powell
Crimson Peak – Kate Hawley
The Danish Girl – Paco Delgado
Trumbo – Daniel Orlandi

Excellence in Fantasy Film
Cinderella – Sandy Powell
Ex Machina – Sammy Sheldon Differ
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 2 – Kurt and Bart
Mad Max: Fury Road – Jenny Beavan
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Michael Kaplan

Outstanding Contemporary Television Series
American Horror Story: Hotel – Lou Eyrich
Empire, Season 1 – Rita McGhee
House of Cards – Johanna Argan, Kemal Harris
Ray Donovan – Christopher Lawrence
Transparent – Marie Schley

Outstanding Period Television Series
The Knick – Ellen Mirojnick
Mad Men – Janie Bryant, Tiffany White Stanton
Masters of Sex – Isis Mussenden
Outlander – Terry Dresbach
Penny Dreadful – Gabriella Pescucci

Outstanding Fantasy Television Series
Game of Thrones – Michele Clapton
Once Upon a Time – Eduardo Castro
Sleepy Hollow, Season 2 – Kristin M. Burke, Mairi Chisholm
Sleepy Hollow, Season 3 – Mairi Chisholm
The Wiz Live! – Paul Tazewell

Excellence in Short Form Design
And So It Begins, Old Spice Commercial – Mindy Le Brock
From the Makers of Happy & Merry, H&M Presents Katy Perry Commercial – B. Åkerlund
The Hobbit: Kingdoms of Middle-earth – Dance Battle, Video Game, Kaboom/Warner Interactive Commercial – Soyon An
Kevin Spacey, E-Trade Commercial – Johanna Argan
Most Interesting Man in the World Wins on Land, Sea & Air, Dos Equis Commercial – Julie Vogel

Also of Interest: Ronald D Moore Interview on Terry Dresbach Outlander‘s Costumes


Comments are closed.