Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards 2019 Winners: Apollo 11 Soars with 5 Wins

Apollo 11

The riveting space documentary Apollo 11 emerged the big winner at the Fourth Annual Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards held on November 10, 2019. Apollo 11 earned five awards including the Best Documentary Feature, Best Archival Documentary, Best Editing for Todd Douglas Miller, Best Score for Matt Morton, and Best Science/Nature Documentary.

The Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards are an offshoot of the Critics’ Choice Awards and are voted on by members of the Critics Choice Association, the new name of the combined Broadcast Television Journalists Association and the Broadcast Film Critics Association.

“Once again, we are thrilled to celebrate and support the vibrant and groundbreaking work of these talented documentarians. We are proud that our yearly gala event has become an informed and valuable way for people to find the best films out there and for the work of these filmmakers to find their audiences,” stated CCA CEO Joey Berlin. “It was a great night of lauding the greats in the documentary field as well as some outstanding newcomers.”


  • Best Documentary Feature – Apollo 11 (Neon)
  • Best Director – TIE – Peter Jackson – They Shall Not Grow Old (Warner Bros.)
  • Best Director – TIE – Julia Reichert and Steven Bognar – American Factory (Netflix)
  • Best Cinematography – John Chester – The Biggest Little Farm (Neon)
  • Best Editing – Todd Douglas Miller – Apollo 11 (Neon)
  • Best Score – Matt Morton – Apollo 11 (Neon)
  • Best Narration – Bruce Springsteen – Western Stars (Warner Bros.)
  • Best First Documentary Feature – Tamara Kotevska and Ljubomir Stefanov – Honeyland (Neon)
  • Best Archival Documentary – Apollo 11 (Neon)
  • Best Biographical Documentary – Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am (Magnolia)
  • Best Music Documentary – Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice (Greenwich)
  • Best Political Documentary – American Factory (Netflix)
  • Best Science/Nature Documentary – Apollo 11 (Neon)
  • Best Sports Documentary – Maiden (Sony Pictures Classics)
  • Most Innovative Documentary – They Shall Not Grow Old (Warner Bros.)
  • Best Short Documentary – Period. End of Sentence. (Netflix)

Discretionary Awards:

  • The D A Pennebaker Award – Frederick Wiseman
  • The Landmark Award – Michael Apted

Complete List of the 2019 Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards Nominees