‘It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia’ Gets Seasons 13 and 14 Renewals

It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia Cast
Charlie Day as Charlie, Rob McElhenney as Mac, Glenn Howerton as Dennis, Kaitlin Olson as Dee, and Danny DeVito (Photo by Trae Patton Copyright 2016, FX Networks)

Season 11 recently wrapped up and season 12 will debut in 2017, and now FX has announced It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia was renewed for seasons 13 and 14. The half-hour comedy improved in ratings with season 11, up 13% in total viewers and ranking #1 among scripted comedy series on basic and pay cable. Season 14 will bring It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia to a tie with The Adventures of Ozzie and Harriet as the longest running live-action comedy series.

“If anyone doubts the power of a camcorder and a dream, just look at It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, which was a DIY backyard pilot when Rob, Charlie and Glenn brought it to FX and will go down in TV history as one of the most loved and enduring comedies,” said Nick Grad, Presidents of Original Programming for FX Networks and FX ProductionsGrad. “Few shows make it this far or have such devoted fans, and we owe it all to the creative vision and great humor of the creators and cast who keep Sunny fresh and inventive every season.”

The series was created by Rob McElhenney and is executive produced by McElhenney, Glenn Howerton, Charlie Day, Michael Rotenberg, Nick Frenkel, Tom Lofaro, Scott Marder and David Hornsby. The cast is led by McElhenney, Howerton, Day, Kaitlin Olson, and Danny DeVito.

The Plot: It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia follows the misguided dreams and blundered schemes of everyone’s favorite bar owners – The Gang at Paddy’s Pub – Mac (McElhenney), Dennis (Howerton), Charlie (Day), Dee (Olson) and Frank (DeVito).