Los Angeles Film Critics Name ‘Spotlight’ 2015’s Best Film

Spotlight Movie Cast
The cast of ‘Spotlight’ (Photo Courtesy of Open Road Films)
The Los Angeles Film Critics Association gave multiple awards to Mad Max: Fury Road and Anomalisa, but it was Spotlight that earned the top spot as 2015’s best film. The group voted on December 6, 2015 and will honor the winners at the 41st annual Los Angeles Film Critics Association awards ceremony on January 9, 2016.

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association was formed in 1975 and is made up of LA based film critics working in print and electronic media. The group not only hands out awards each year recognizing the best in films, they also donate to LA film organizations and host film panels and events throughout the year. Commenting on the winners LAFCA President Stephen Farber said, “I am very pleased that our group selected a wide range of films, from big studio blockbusters to smaller independent films richly deserving of recognition. Our individual winners covered quite an impressive gamut in terms of age, experience and background,”

Los Angeles Film Critics Winners:

PICTURE: “Spotlight”
Runner-up: “Mad Max: Fury Road”

DIRECTOR: George Miller, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
Runner-up: Todd Haynes, “Carol”

ACTOR: Michael Fassbender, “Steve Jobs”
Runner-up: Géza Röhrig, “Son of Saul”

ACTRESS: Charlotte Rampling, “45 Years”
Runner-up: Saoirse Ronan, “Brooklyn”

SUPPORTING ACTOR: Michael Shannon, “99 Homes”
Runner-up: Mark Rylance, “Bridge of Spies”

SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Alicia Vikander, “Ex Machina”
Runner-up: Kristen Stewart, “Clouds of Sils Maria”

SCREENPLAY: Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy, “Spotlight”
Runner-up: Charlie Kaufman, “Anomalisa”

ANIMATION: “Anomalisa”
Runner-up: “Inside Out”

Runner-up: “The Tribe”

Runner-up: “The Look of Silence”

NEW GENERATION: Ryan Coogler, “Creed”

FILM EDITING: Hank Corwin, “The Big Short”
Runner-up: Margaret Sixel, “Mad Max: Fury Road”

CINEMATOGRAPHY: John Seale, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
Runner-up: Edward Lachman, “Carol”

PRODUCTION DESIGN: Colin Gibson, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
Runner-up: Judy Becker, “Carol”

MUSIC/SCORE: Carter Burwell, “Anomalisa” and “Carol”
Runner-up: Ennio Morricone, “The Hateful Eight”

SPECIAL CITATION: David Shepard, for his invaluable work in film preservation, particularly of films from the silent era