Michelle Yeoh to Headline a New ‘Star Trek’ Series

Star Trek: Discovery Michelle Yeoh
Michelle Yeoh as Georgiou in ‘Star Trek: Discovery’ (Photo Cr: James Dimmock © 2018 CBS Interactive)

The Star Trek world is expanding once again, with CBS All Access confirming a new live-action Star Trek series is in the development stage. Michelle Yeoh’s Captain Philippa Georgiou character will be spun-off from Star Trek: Discovery into the new currently untitled series involving the Section 31 division.

The untitled series has Alex Kurtzman, Heather Kadin, Rod Roddenberry and Trevor Roth on board as executive producers. Erika Lippoldt’s been tapped to write the spin-off which will explore the shadow organization within the Federation. CBS Television Studios, Secret Hideout and Roddenberry Entertainment are producing the new sci-fi series.

“I’m so excited to continue telling these rich Star Trek stories,” said Michelle Yeoh. “Being a part of this universe and this character specifically has been such a joy for me to play. I can’t wait to see where it all goes – certainly I believe it will go ‘where no WOMAN has ever gone before!’”

“Michelle has shattered ceilings, broken boundaries, and astonished us with her grace and gravitas for decades. As a human, I adore her. As an actor, I revere her,” stated Alex Kurtzman. “Erika and Boey are remarkable, exciting writers who bring a fresh perspective to the world of Star Trek, and we’re all thrilled to explore the next wild chapter in the life of Captain Philippa Georgiou.”

In addition to Star Trek: Discovery, Michelle Yeoh’s credits include Crazy Rich Asians, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, Memoirs of a Geisha, Sunshine, and Tomorrow Never Dies.

Season two of Star Trek: Discovery will premiere on Thursday, January 17, 2019. CBS All Access hasn’t announced when we can expect the just-announced new series to debut.

The cast of Star Trek: Discovery is led by Sonequa Martin-Green (Commander Michael Burnham) and includes Doug Jones (Commander Saru), Shazad Latif (Ash Tyler), Anson Mount (Captain Christopher Pike), Anthony Rapp (Lt. Commander Paul Stamets), Mary Wiseman (Ensign Sylvia Tilly), Wilson Cruz (Dr. Hugh Culber), Mary Chieffo (L’Rell), and Ethan Peck (Spock).