Paul Feig Earns CinemaCon’s Comedy Filmmaker of the Year Award

Paul Feig is the Comedy Filmmaker of the Year
Director Paul Feig on the set of ‘The Heat’ (Photo © 20th Century Fox)

Paul Feig, director of Bridesmaids, The Heat, and multiple episodes of The Office and Nurse Jackie, has been chosen to receive CinemaCon’s Comedy Filmmaker of the Year Award. Feig will accept the honor on April 23, 2015 during the Big Screen Achievement Awards ceremony at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas.

Feig is also the director of 20th Century Fox’s upcoming comedy Spy starring his Bridesmaids and The Heat star Melissa McCarthy. And he’s attached to direct the reboot of Ghostbusters featuring a female-led cast of McCarthy, Kristen Wiig, Kate McKinnon, and Leslie Jones.

“Come the end of CinemaCon 2015 we will have screened two of the funniest movies in recent memory, The Heat and Spy, both starring Melissa McCarthy, and both directed by Paul Feig,” stated Mitch Neuhauser, Managing Director of CinemaCon. “How lucky can you get? No one has his finger on the pulse of comedy better than Paul Feig. He simply never disappoints with his outrageously funny comedies and we’re thrilled that exhibitors will have this opportunity to say thank you.”

This year’s CinemaCon, the annual gathering of motion picture professionals, will take place April 20 – 23 in Vegas.

The Spy Plot:

Susan Cooper (McCarthy) is an unassuming, deskbound CIA analyst, and the unsung hero behind the Agency’s most dangerous missions. But when her partner (Jude Law) falls off the grid and another top agent (Jason Statham) is compromised, she volunteers to go deep undercover to infiltrate the world of a deadly arms dealer, and prevent a global disaster. The cast also includes Rose Byrne, Bobby Cannavale, Allison Janney, Curtis “50 Cent” Jackson, and Miranda Hart.

-By Rebecca Murray

Follow Us On: