PGA Awards Winners Include ‘Big Short’ and ‘Fargo’

Steve Carell, Ryan Gosling The Big Short Photo
Steve Carell and Ryan Gosling star in ‘The Big Short’ (Photo Credit: Paramount Pictures)

The Producers Guild of America awards were announced on January 23, 2016 and although The Revenant had been cleaning up, the PGA members threw their support behind The Big Short starring Brad Pitt, Ryan Gosling, Steve Carell, and Christian Bale. The win means we now have a new frontrunner in the Oscar race as the Producers Guild’s Darryl F. Zanuck Award winner has matched the Best Picture Oscar winner since the Academy and the PGA expanded the Best Picture field from five to a possible 10 nominees and began using preferential ballots.

In addition to the film winners, the best of 2015 in television was recognized during the January 23rd awards ceremony. Fargo, Game of Thrones, and Transparent took home PGA awards, as did The Voice and Last Week Tonight with John Oliver.

Producers Guild Awards Winners

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Winner: The Big Short – Producers: Brad Pitt & Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner
Bridge of Spies – Producers: Steven Spielberg, Marc Platt, Kristie Macosko Krieger
Brooklyn – Producers: Finola Dwyer & Amanda Posey
Ex Machina – Producers: Andrew Macdonald, Allon Reich
Mad Max: Fury Road – Producers: Doug Mitchell & George Miller
The Martian – Producers: Simon Kinberg, Ridley Scott, Michael Schaefer, Mark Huffam
The Revenant – Producers: Arnon Milchan, Steve Golin, Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Mary Parent, Keith Redmon
Sicario – Producers: Basil Iwanyk, Edward L. McDonnell, Molly Smith
Spotlight – Producers: Michael Sugar & Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin, Blye Pagon Faust
Straight Outta Compton – Producers: Ice Cube, Matt Alvarez, F. Gary Gray, Dr. Dre, Scott Bernstein

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Anomalisa – Producers: Rosa Tran, Duke Johnson, Charlie Kaufman
The Good Dinosaur – Producer: Denise Ream
Winner: Inside Out – Producer: Jonas Rivera
Minions – Producers: Chris Meledandri, Janet Healy
The Peanuts Movie – Producers: Craig Schulz, Michael J. Travers

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Winner: Amy – Producer: James Gay-Rees
The Hunting Ground – Producer: Amy Ziering
The Look of Silence – Producer: Signe Byrge Sørensen
Meru – Producers: Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi, Jimmy Chin
Something Better to Come – Producers: Sigrid Dyekjær, Hanna Polak

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:
*The Long-Form Television category encompasses both movies of the week and mini-series.

American Crime (Season 1)
American Horror Story: Hotel (Season 5)
Winner: Fargo (Season 2)
True Detective (Season 2)
A Very Murray Christmas

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama:

Better Call Saul (Season 1)
Winner: Game of Thrones (Season 5)
Homeland (Season 4)
House of Cards (Season 3)
Mad Men (Season 7B)

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy:

Inside Amy Schumer (Season 3)
Modern Family (Season 6)
Silicon Valley (Season 2)
Winner: Transparent (Season 1)
Veep (Season 4)

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:

30 for 30 (Season 6)
Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown (Season 3)
Winner: The Jinx: The Life and Deaths of Robert Durst (Season 1)
Shark Tank (Season 6)
Vice (Season 3)

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition Television:

The Amazing Race (Seasons 25 and 26)
Dancing with the Stars (Seasons 19 and 20)
Project Runway (Season 13)
Top Chef (Season 12)
Winner: The Voice (Seasons 7 and 8)

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:

The Colbert Report (Season 11)
Key & Peele (Season 4)
Winner: Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (Season 2)
Real Time with Bill Maher (Season 13)
The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon (Season 2)

The Award for Outstanding Sports Program:

Back on Board: Greg Louganis
Hard Knocks: Training Camp with the Houston Texans
Kareem: Minority of One
Winner: Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel

The Award for Outstanding Digital Series:

30 for 30 Shorts
Winner: Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee
Epic Rap Battles of History
Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Double Agent
This American Life Presents: Videos 4 U

The Award for Outstanding Children’s Program:

Doc McStuffins
The Fairly OddParents
Winner: Sesame Street
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Toy Story That Time Forgot