Producers Guild Awards 2018 Winners: ‘The Shape of Water’ and ‘Handmaid’s Tale’ Snag Awards

2018 Producers Guild Award Winners
Sally Hawkins in ‘The Shape of Water’ (Photo by Kerry Hayes © 2017 Twentieth Century Fox)

The Producers Guild of America (PGA) has weighed in on the best films and television shows of 2017, with the winners of the 2018 Producers Guild of America Awards announced on January 20, 2018. Guillermo del Toro’s riveting fantasy romance The Shape of Water took home the group’s top award in the feature film category, a win that bodes well for its chances at taking the Best Picture Oscar at the 2018 Academy Awards. According to the PGA, winners of the Darryl F. Zanuck Award have gone on to win the Best Picture Oscar 19 times in the organization’s 28 year history.

On the television side of the PGA Awards, Hulu’s The Handmaid’s Tale starring Elisabeth Moss and Amazon’s The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel with Rachel Brosnahan took the top honors during the ceremony held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles.

In addition to the PGA Awards honoring the best of 2017 in films and TV, the group awarded Universal Pictures Chairman Donna Langley the Milestone Award, Producer Charles Roven with the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures, Producer Ryan Murphy with the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television, and Producer Ava DuVernay with the Visionary Award. The critically acclaimed horror/thriller Get Out was given the Stanley Kramer Award.

PGA Award Winners:

    The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

    “The Shape of Water”
    Producers: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale

    The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

    Producer: Darla K. Anderson

    The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures:

    Producers: Brett Morgen, Bryan Burk, Tony Gerber, James Smith

    The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama:

    “The Handmaid’s Tale” (Season 1)
    Producers: Bruce Miller, Warren Littlefield, Daniel Wilson, Fran Sears, Ilene Chaiken, Sheila Hockin, Eric Tuchman, Frank Siracusa, John Weber, Joseph Boccia, Elisabeth Moss, Kira Snyder, Leila Gerstein

    The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy:

    “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Season 1)
    Producers: Daniel Palladino, Amy Sherman-Palladino, Sheila Lawrence, Dhana Rivera Gilbert

    The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:
    The Long-Form Television category encompasses both movies of the week and limited series.

    “Black Mirror” (Season 4)
    Producers: Annabel Jones, Charlie Brooker

    The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:

    “Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath” (Season 1, Season 2)
    Producers: Leah Remini, Eli Holzman, Aaron Saidman, Myles Reiff, Adam Saltzberg, Erin Gamble, Lisa Rosen, Grainne Byrne, Taylor Levin, Alex Weresow, Rachelle Mendez

    The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:

    “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” (Season 4)
    Producers: John Oliver, Tim Carvell, Liz Stanton

    The Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition Television:

    “The Voice” (Season 12, Season 13)
    Producers: John de Mol, Mark Burnett, Audrey Morrissey, Lee Metzger, Chad Hines, Amanda Zucker, Kyra Thompson, Jay Bienstock, Stijn Bakkers, Mike Yurchuk, Teddy Valenti, Carson Daly

    The Award for Outstanding Short-Form Program:

    “Carpool Karaoke” (Season 1)

    The Award for Outstanding Sports Program:

    “Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel” (Season 23)

    The Award for Outstanding Children’s Program:

    “Sesame Street” (Season 47)

Complete List of 2018 Producers Guild of America Nominees