Producers Guild Awards 2018 Nominees: Best in Films and Television of 2017

Producers Guild Awards Nominees 2018
Gal Gadot stars in ‘Wonder Woman’ (Photo © 2015 Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. and Ratpac-Dune Entertainment)

The Producers Guild of America unveiled their nominations in the theatrical motion picture and television categories, reflecting their picks for the best of 2017. For the first time in the Guild’s history, the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures category includes 11 nominees as the result of a tie. The usual suspects made the cut, with a surprise appearance by Wonder Woman.

On the television side, none of the four major networks – ABC, CBS, NBC or Fox – were represented in the drama or comedy episodic TV categories. Instead, Netflix, Hulu, HBO, and Amazon series were recognized with nominations by members of the PGA.

Winners will be announced during the 29th Annual Producers Guild Awards which will be held on Saturday, January 20, 2018 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles.

The PGA will also recognize Donna Langley with the Milestone Award, Ryan Murphy with the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television, Charles Roven with the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures, Get Out with the Stanley Kramer Award, and Ava DuVernay with the Visionary Award.

Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

  • “The Big Sick” – Producers: Judd Apatow, Barry Mendel
  • “Call Me By Your Name” – Producers: Peter Spears, Luca Guadagnino, Emilie Georges, Marco Morabito
  • “Dunkirk” – Producers: Emma Thomas, Christopher Nolan
  • “Get Out” – Producers: Sean McKittrick & Edward H. Hamm, Jr., Jason Blum, Jordan Peele
  • “I, Tonya” – Producers: Bryan Unkeless, Steven Rogers, Margot Robbie, Tom Ackerley
  • “Lady Bird” – Producers: Scott Rudin, Eli Bush, Evelyn O’Neill
  • “Molly’s Game” – Producers: Mark Gordon, Amy Pascal, Matt Jackson
  • “The Post” – Producers: Amy Pascal, Steven Spielberg, Kristie Macosko Krieger
  • “The Shape Of Water” – Producers: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale
  • “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” – Producers: Graham Broadbent & Pete Czernin, Martin McDonagh
  • “Wonder Woman” – Producers: Charles Roven & Richard Suckle, Zack Snyder & Deborah Snyder

Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

  • “The Boss Baby” – Producer: Ramsey Naito
  • “Coco” – Producer: Darla K. Anderson
  • “Despicable Me 3” – Producers: Chris Meledandri, Janet Healy
  • “Ferdinand” – Producers: Lori Forte, Bruce Anderson
  • “The Lego Batman Movie” – Producers: Dan Lin, Phil Lord & Christopher Miller

Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures:

  • “Chasing Coral” – Producers: Jeff Orlowski, Larissa Rhodes
  • “City of Ghosts” – Producer: Matthew Heineman
  • “Cries from Syria” – Producers: Evgeny Afineevsky, Den Tolmor, Aaron I. Butler
  • “Earth: One Amazing Day” – Producer: Stephen McDonogh
  • “Jane”
  • “Joshua: Teenager vs. Superpower”
  • “The Newspaperman: The Life and Times of Ben Bradlee” – Producers: Teddy Kunhardt, George Kunhardt

Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama:

  • “Big Little Lies” (Season 1)
  • “The Crown” (Season 2)
  • “Game of Thrones” (Season 7)
  • “The Handmaid’s Tale” (Season 1)
  • “Stranger Things” (Season 2)

Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy:

  • “Curb Your Enthusiasm” (Season 9)
  • “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Season 1)
  • “Master of None” (Season 2)
  • “Silicon Valley” (Season 4)
  • “Veep” (Season 6)

David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:
The Long-Form Television category encompasses both movies of the week and limited series.

  • “Black Mirror” (Season 4)
  • “Fargo” (Season 3)
  • “FEUD: Bette and Joan” (Season 1)
  • “Sherlock: The Lying Detective”
  • “The Wizard of Lies”

Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:

  • “30 for 30” (Season 8)
  • “60 Minutes” (Season 50)
  • “Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown” (Season 9, Season 10)
  • “Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath” (Season 1, Season 2)
  • “Spielberg”

Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:

  • “Full Frontal with Samantha Bee” (Season 2)
  • “Jimmy Kimmel Live!” (Season 15)
  • “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” (Season 4)
  • “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert” (Season 3)
  • “Saturday Night Live” (Season 43)

Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition Television:

  • “The Amazing Race” (Season 29)
  • “American Ninja Warrior” (Season 9)
  • “Lip Sync Battle” (Season 3)
  • “Top Chef” (Season 14)
  • “The Voice” (Season 12, Season 13)

Award for Outstanding Short-Form Program:

  • “Better Call Saul’s Los Pollos Hermanos Employee Training” (Season 1)
  • “Carpool Karaoke” (Season 1)
  • “Humans of New York: The Series” (Season 1)
  • “National Endowment for the Arts: United States of Arts” (Season 3)
  • “Viceland at the Women’s March” (Season 1)

Award for Outstanding Sports Program:

  • “All or Nothing: A Season with the Los Angeles Rams” (Season 2)
  • “Hard Knocks: Training Camp with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers” (Season 12)
  • “Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel” (Season 23)
  • “SportsCenter with Scott Van Pelt” (Season 3)
  • “VICE World of Sports” (Season 2)

Award for Outstanding Children’s Program:

  • “Doc McStuffins” (Season 4)
  • “Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards 2017”
  • “School of Rock” (Season 3)
  • “Sesame Street” (Season 47)
  • “SpongeBob SquarePants” (Season 10, Season 11)

About the Producers Guild of America: “The Producers Guild of America is the non-profit trade group that represents, protects and promotes the interests of all members of the producing team in film, television and new media. The Producers Guild has more than 8,200 members who work together to protect and improve their careers, the industry and community by providing members with employment opportunities, seeking to expand health benefits, promoting fair and impartial standards for the awarding of producing credits, as well as other education and advocacy efforts such as encouraging sustainable production practices.”

Complete List of the 2018 Producers Guild of America Award Winners