Sean Bean and Adrian Lester to Star in Street Race Drama, ‘Curfew’

Sean Bean Stars in Curfew
Sean Bean (Photo by Richard Chavez / Showbiz Junkies)

Sky’s signed up Sean Bean (Broken, Game of Thrones), Adrian Lester (Riviera, Hustle), Phoebe Fox (Blue Iguana, Intrigo: Samaria), and Malachi Kirby (Black Mirror, Roots) to star in the new series, Curfew. Curfew is described as a street racing drama and was created by Hammer of the Gods‘ Matthew Read. Read writes and executive produces, with Will Gould and Frith Tiplady on board as executive producers.

Colm McCarthy (The Girl With All The Gifts, Peaky Blinders) will direct the series set up with Sky Original Production, Tiger Aspect Productions, and Moonage Pictures. Season one consists of eight episodes and is targeting a 2019 premiere.

“Sky have been incredibly supportive throughout the development of such a bold and ambitious show and I couldn’t be more pleased by the creative team that has been assembled to deliver a story that we have filled with as much excitement, emotion and dynamism as possible,” said writer/executive producer Matthew Read.

“When Sky does dramas about car races, we do them like no other broadcaster,” added Sky’s head of drama Anne Mensah. “Funny, emotionally truthful, visceral and above all fast – Curfew is the perfect Sky One show. Matthew Read has created fantastically memorable, sometimes shocking, always fascinating characters. You’ll want every single one of them to win the race of their lives.”

The Plot: Curfew follows the story of ordinary people competing in the world’s fastest, most furious, illegal night-time street race. Desperate for their own reasons, the challengers risk everything as they race through the night from London to northernmost Scotland in their pimped-out, weaponized vehicles to win the ultimate prize — freedom from the totalitarian government curfew that controls their lives.

Joining Sean Bean, Adrian Lester, Phoebe Fox and Malachi Kirby, the cast of Curfew also includes Robert Glenister (Hustle, Spooks), Aimee-Ffion Edwards (Troy: Fall of a City, Peaky Blinders), Rose Williams (Reign, A Quiet Passion), Elijah Rowen (Vikings), and Guz Khan (Man Like Mobeen, Borderline).