Taye Diggs Will Return as ‘Critics’ Choice Awards’ Host in 2020

Taye Diggs to Host Critics' Choice Awards
Taye Diggs to return as host of the Critics’ Choice Awards (Photo by Jordon Nuttall)

Taye Diggs (All-American, Set It Up) did such a fantastic job his first time as host that the Broadcast Film Critics Association* (BFCA) and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association* (BTJA) have asked him back to tackle hosting duties once again at the 25th Annual Critics’ Choice Awards. The BFCA and BTJA also announced the awards show celebrating the best in films and television will return to The CW.

The 2020 Critics’ Choice Awards will take place on Sunday, January 12, 2020 and will air live on the East Coast beginning at 7pm ET/PT (tape-delayed on the West Coast). The three-hour show will take place at the Barker Hanger in Santa Monica, CA.

“We are so proud to be celebrating our 25th anniversary of honoring the finest achievements in film and television,” stated BFCA President Joey Berlin. “In this golden era of content creation on screens ranging from IMAX to iPhone, critics perform an ever more important role in helping people find the best of the best. The power and importance of storytelling has never been greater, nor has the profusion of stories. BFCA and BTJA members are in the trenches every day, watching hundreds of shows and movies, and our awards show on January 12 will be the star-studded party of the year.”

“We’re excited to serve as the exclusive home of the Critics’ Choice Awards for their 25th Anniversary, and to help honor some of the biggest stars in film and television,” said Gaye Hirsch, Executive Vice President, Development, The CW. “We are thrilled to have the phenomenally talented Taye Diggs returning as our host, as the CCA continues to be one of the most anticipated events in Hollywood. Our partnership with both the BFCA and BTJA gives us the opportunity to share the star-studded celebration with our viewers.”

The BFCA also confirmed they’ll team up with the Association of National Advertisers (ANA) and The CW Network to present the annual #SeeHer Award. The special award recognizes “a woman who embodies the values set forth by the #SeeHer movement — to push boundaries on changing stereotypes and recognize the importance of accurately portraying women across the entertainment landscape. The award will bear significant importance as 2020 marks the 100-year anniversary of the passing of the 19th Amendment, which gave women the right to vote.”

Bob Bain Productions and Berlin Entertainment will produce the 2020 show.

The annual Critics’ Choice Awards are voted on by members of the BFCA and BTJA. The BFCA is made up of 300+ television, radio, and online film critics, making it the largest film critics organization in the US and Canada. The BFCA consists of television, online, and radio journalists who cover TV on a regular basis.

* – Disclosure: I’m a member of the BFCA and BTJA