The Watch Cast Expands, Adding Anna Chancellor and James Fleet

The Watch Cast

BBC America’s confirmed new cast members for their upcoming series, The Watch, based on the Discworld novels by Sir Terry Pratchett. New to the cast are Anna Chancellor, James Fleet, Ingrid Oliver, Ruth Madeley, Hakeem Kae-Kazim, and Bianca Simone Mannie. In addition to announcing the new cast members, BBC America confirmed the characters each will be playing.

The six new The Watch cast members join previously announced series stars Richard Dormer (“Captain Sam Vimes”), Adam Hugill (“Constable Carrot”), Jo Eaton-Kent (“Constable Cheery”), Marama Corlett (“Corporal Angua”), Lara Rossi (“Lady Sybil Ramkin”), and Sam Adewunmi (“Carcer Dun”).

Directors Brian Kelly (Outlander) and Emma Sullivan (Doctor Who) have also just signed up to helm episodes of the series, joining Craig Viveiros as directors. Simon Allen (The Musketeers) is the show’s lead writer.

“It’s been so exciting to join such a wonderfully creative team – from writer Simon Allen to the stunning production design and a truly talented group of actors – to help realize Terry Pratchett’s brilliantly anarchic yet strangely real and moving world,” said Anna Chancellor. “With the combining characteristics of Dracula and Elvis – Lord Vetinari has sprung to life in the most alarmingly joyful way.”

Commenting on his casting, James Fleet said, “I’m delighted to be playing the Archchancellor. I think the writing and design catch the spirit of Terry Pratchett’s work and create a world of jeopardy and humor.”

The eight episode season one of The Watch is expected to premiere in 2020. Filming is currently underway in South Africa.

The series is co-produced by BBC Studios and Narrativia. Richard Stokes, Hilary Salmon, and Ben Donald for BBC Studios, Rob Wilkins for Narrativia, Simon Allen, and Craig Viveiros are executive producers. Johann Knobel produces and Simon Rogers (Doctor Foster) is the production designer. The behind-the-scenes team includes director of photography John Pardue (Luther), costume designers Colleen Kelsall (Tolkien) and Dihantus Engelbrecht (Noughts and Crosses), and hair and make-up designer Amanda Ross-McDonald (Black Sails).

The Watch Plot and Characters:

“Set in a fictional city where crime has been legalized, The Watch is a genre-busting series that follows a group of misfit cops as they rise up from decades of helplessness to save their corrupt city from catastrophe. Uniquely anarchic and thrillingly entertaining, the character-driven drama follows several of Sir Terry Pratchett’s best-loved creations on a riotous and emotional odyssey.

Anna Chancellor (Pennyworth) is set to star as Lord Vetinari, The Patrician of Ankh-Morpork, and architect of the city’s normalized wrongness and ramshackle system of governance. James Fleet (Outlander) will play The Archchancellor, a wizard, magical advisor, and the Head of the Unseen University. Ingrid Oliver (Doctor Who) stars as the Head of The Assassins’ Guild, Doctor Cruces.

Ruth Madeley (Years and Years) will portray the wiry Throat, the city’s best snitch, with a gang of freelance henchmen at her beck and call. Hakeem Kae-Kazim (Dynasty) will play Captain John Keel, former leader of The Watch and mentor to Sam Vimes, determined to save the corrupt and chaotic city. Bianca Simone Mannie (Homeland) stars as the cunning Wonse, a wizard hopeful in waiting that is frequently underestimated.”