12 Years a Slave Wins Big at the Spirit Awards

2014 Spirit Awards Winners
Lupita Nyong'o accepts the Best Supporting Actress award at the 2014 Film Independent Spirit Awards. (Photo by Randall Michelson/WireImage)
Neither wind nor rain could stop the Film Independent Spirit Awards, nor could the bad weather dampen the spirits of the actors, filmmakers, and assorted celebs gathered in a tent on Santa Monica beach to celebrate the best of independent films released in 2013. 12 Years a Slave continued its award-winning ways, snagging Best Feature, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Supporting Female and Best Cinematography awards. Also proving to be popular with the indie crowd were Dallas Buyers Club and Fruitvale Station.
Patton Oswalt hosted the 20th annual event which featured the first-ever award delivered via drone.

2014 Spirit Awards Winners

Best Feature: 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Producers: Dede Gardner, Anthony Katagas, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen, Arnon Milchan, Brad Pitt, Bill Pohlad
Best Director: Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Best Screenplay: John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Best First Feature: Fruitvale Station (The Weinstein Company)
Director: Ryan Coogler, Producers: Nina Yang Bongiovi, Forest Whitaker
Best First Screenplay: Bob Nelson, Nebraska (Paramount Pictures)
John Cassavetes Award (For best feature made under $500,000): This is Martin Bonner (Monterey Media inc)
Writer/Director: Chad Hartigan, Producer: Cherie Saulter
Best Supporting Female: Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Best Supporting Male: Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club (Focus Features)
Best Female Lead: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine (Sony Pictures Classics)
Best Male Lead: Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club (Focus Features)
Robert Altman Award: Mud (Roadside Attractions / Lionsgate)
Director: Jeff Nichols, Casting Director: Francine Maisler, Ensemble Cast: Joe Don Baker, Jacob Lofland, Matthew McConaughey, Ray McKinnon, Sarah Paulson, Michael Shannon, Sam Shepard, Tye Sheridan, Paul Sparks, Bonnie Sturdivant, Reese Witherspoon
Best Cinematography: Sean Bobbitt, 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Best Editing: Nat Sanders, Short Term 12 (Cinedigm)
Best International Film: Blue is the Warmest Color (France- IFC Films)
Director: Abdellatif Kechiche
Best Documentary: 20 Feet From Stardom (Radius-TWC)
Director/Producer: Morgan Neville, Producers: Gil Friesen, Caitrin Rogers
-Posted by Rebecca Murray

Follow Us On:

Stumble It!