CBS Renews ‘Zoo’ and ‘Big Brother’

Zoo Alyssa Diaz, James Wolk and Nonso Anozie
Alyssa Diaz, James Wolk, and Nonso Anozie in ‘Zoo’ (Photo © 2016 CBS Broadcasting, Inc.)

CBS has confirmed they’ve renewed Zoo for a third season and Big Brother for seasons 19 and 20. Season three of the dramatic series Zoo will air next summer while seasons 19 and 20 of Big Brother will air in the summers of 2017 and 2018. Making the announcements, CBS said Zoo‘s the 2016 summer’s second most watched original scripted broadcast series. Zoo is based on the book by James Patterson and stars James Wolk, Kristen Connolly, Billy Burke, Nonso Anozie, Alyssa Diaz, and Josh Salatin. Author Patterson executive produces along with Jeff Pinkner, Josh Appelbaum, Andre Nemec, Scott Rosenberg, Michael Katleman, James Mangold, Cathy Konrad, Bill Robinson, and Leopoldo Gout.

Season two of Zoo will wrap up on September 6th with a two-hour finale.

Once again hosted by Julie Chen, this season of Big Brother has been in the top 10 among adult viewers and is the “most social series on TV,” per CBS. Big Brother is currently airing on Sundays at 8pm ET/PT, Wednesdays at 8pm ET/PT, and Thursdays at 9pm ET/PT. 87 high definition cameras record the goings-on of the housemates, with 100 microphones in the house picking up conversations 24 hours a day. The winner of the reality competition will receive a $500,000 grand prize for outlasting their fellow housemates and being the last to actually leave the Big Brother house.