Critics’ Choice Awards: Viola Davis, Nicole Kidman, Mandy Moore Confirmed to Present

24th Annual Critics' Choice Awards

Viola Davis will take the stage during the 2019 Critics’ Choice Awards to present Claire Foy with this year’s #SeeHer Award. Davis was the first recipient of the special honor in 2017 followed by Wonder Woman‘s Gal Gadot in 2018.

Per the Broadcast Television Journalists Association and Broadcast Film Critics Association*, the #SeeHer award was created to recognize “a woman who embodies the values set forth by the #SeeHer movement — to push boundaries on changing stereotypes and recognize the importance of authentic portrayals of women across the entertainment landscape. #SeeHer is spearheaded by the ANA (Association of National Advertisers), the largest marketing and advertising association in the United States. The mission of #SeeHer is to accurately portray all women and girls in media so that by 2020, the 100th anniversary of women gaining the right to vote, they see themselves reflected as they truly are.”

The cast of The Big Bang Theory has been tapped to present the Critics’ Choice Creative Achievement Award to prolific television series creator Chuck Lorre. Mayim Bialik, Kaley Cuoco, Johnny Galecki, Simon Helberg, Kunal Nayyar, Jim Parsons, and Melissa Rauch are expected to be on hand to present the special award to Lorre.

The BFCA and BTJA also announced the first batch of presenters confirmed for the 24th annual awards show:

  • Awkwafina
  • Angela Bassett
  • Kristen Bell
  • Ted Danson
  • Nina Dobrev
  • Winston Duke
  • America Ferrera
  • Sara Gilbert
  • Josh Hutcherson
  • Stephan James
  • Jameela Jamil
  • Nicole Kidman
  • Joel Kinnaman
  • KiKi Layne
  • Eugene Levy
  • Justina Machado
  • Ricky Martin
  • Jeanine Mason
  • Chrissy Metz
  • Mandy Moore
  • Olivia Munn
  • Catherine O’Hara
  • Edgar Ramirez
  • Haley Lu Richardson
  • Sarah Silverman
  • Cole Sprouse
  • Ben Stiller
  • Bradley Whitford

This year’s Critics’ Choice Awards will take place on Sunday, January 13th. The show will be broadcast live beginning at 7pm on the East Coast on The CW Network (tape delayed on the West Coast). Taye Diggs will handle the hosting duties for the three-hour show.

(*Disclosure: I’m a member of the BFCA and BTJA.)