FX Renews ‘American Horror Story’ For Season Six

Matt Bomer American Horror Story Hotel
Matt Bomer as Donovan in ‘American Horror Story: Hotel.’ (Photo by Frank Ockenfels / FX)

American Horror Story will be returning for a sixth season as just announced by CEO of FX Networks and FX Productions John Landgraf. Season five, which is currently airing on Wednesday nights at 10pm ET/PT, has higher average ratings than the previous four seasons and its premiere scored the second highest numbers of any AHS episode other than AHS: Freak Show‘s premiere. Season five’s cast includes Lady Gaga, Sarah Paulson, Kathy Bates, Angela Bassett, Wes Bentley, Matt Bomer, Chloë Sevigny, Denis O’Hare, Cheyenne Jackson, Evan Peters and Finn Wittrock.

FX hasn’t revealed the title of the upcoming sixth season but did confirm it will air in 2016.

American Horror Story was co-created by Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk. Murphy writes, directs, and executive produces and is the showrunner. Falchuk writes and executive produces the horror anthology series. Tim Minear, Brad Buecker, Jennifer Salt, James Wong and Alexis Martin Woodall also executive produce.

“With the sixth installment coming next year, American Horror Story has unquestionably joined the ranks of television’s landmark series,” stated Landgraf, announcing the renewal. “From Murder House to Hotel, AHS has pioneered a new television form as well becoming FX’s highest rated show — while also pushing every conceivable boundary of creative excellence and audacity. This is even more remarkable because Ryan and co-creator Brad Falchuk tear up the playbook every year, challenging the entire creative team to come up with something even more spectacular, frightful and entertaining. You could not ask more of an artist, their team or a series and with every new installment they deliver.”