LA Film Festival 2011 Winners Announced

LA FilmFest

The Los Angeles Film Festival just announced the jury and audience award winners for the 2011 Festival, with Allison Janney and John C. Reilly presenting the awards. The festival ran from Thursday, June 16 to Sunday, June 26 in downtown Los Angeles.

From the press release:

The two top juried awards of the Los Angeles Film Festival are the Narrative Award and Documentary Award, each carrying an unrestricted $15,000 cash prize, funded by Film Independent, for the winning film’s director. The awards were established by the Festival encourage independent filmmakers to pursue their artistic ambitions.

“It was such a rich year in competition films, so our juries had really tough choices to make. The winning films are the cream of a particularly delicious crop, and we’re delighted that they reflect the Festival’s dedication to movies from all over the world,” said Festival Artistic Director David Ansen.

The Narrative Award recognizes the finest narrative film in competition at the Festival and went to Stéphane Lafleur for the North American Premiere of Familiar Ground. The Documentary Award recognizes the finest documentary film in competition at the Festival and went to Beverly Kopf and Bobbie Birleffi for the World Premiere of Wish Me Away.

The award for Best Performance in the Narrative Competition went to Amber Sealey, Kent Osborne, Amanda Street, and Gabriel Diamond for their performances in Amber Sealey’s How to Cheat. Given to an actor or actors from an official selection in the Narrative Competition, this is the eighth year the award has been given at the Festival.

For the first time, the Los Angeles Film Festival awarded an unrestricted $5,000 cash prize to each short film category. The award for Best Narrative Short Film went to Saba Riazi’s The Wind Is Blowing on My Street. The award for Best Documentary Short Film went to Susan Koenen’s I Am a Girl!. Mikey Please’s The Eagleman Stag won the award for Best Animated Short Film.

The Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature went to Attack the Block, directed by Joe Cornish and the Audience Award for Best Documentary Feature went to Beats, Rhymes & Life: The Travels of a Tribe Called Quest, directed by Michael Rapaport. Asif Kapadia’s Senna won the Audience Award for Best International Feature.

The Audience Award for Best Short Film went to Blind Date, directed by Joe Rosen. Can’t Shake This Feeling, directed by The General Assembly’s Adam Littke, Ryan McNeill, Adam Willis won the Audience Award for Best Music Video for Grum.

The Narrative Feature Competition jury was comprised of director Lynn Shelton (Humpday, My Effortless Brilliance), Head/Founder of Giant Robot Eric Nakamura, and screenwriter Daniel Waters (Heathers, Batman Returns). The Documentary Feature Competition jury was comprised of Spirit Award-winning director Jeff Malmberg (Marwencol), Executive Director of the International Documentary Association Michael Lumpkin, and Co-editor of Slake magazine Laurie Ochoa. The Shorts Competition jury was comprised of casting director Margery Simkin, film critic Alonso Duralde, and actress Lisa Gay Hamilton.

Now in its seventeenth year, the Festival is recognized as a world-class event, showcasing the best in new American and international cinema and providing the movie-loving public with access to critically acclaimed filmmakers, film industry professionals, and emerging talent from around the world. As previously announced, the 2011 Los Angeles Film Festival will screen over 200 feature films, shorts, and music videos, representing more than 30 countries.

Source: Los Angeles Film Festival

-By Rebecca Murray

Follow Us On:

Stumble It!