Los Angeles Critics Vote ‘Moonlight’ Best Film of 2016

Moonlight star Mahershala Ali
Mahershala Ali in A24’s ‘Moonlight.’

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) selected Moonlight as the best film of 2016. The group also recognized the indie drama’s director Barry Jenkins with the Best Director award, Mahershala Ali won in the Best Supporting Actor category, and cinematographer James Laxton earned top honors for his work on the critically acclaimed film. The LAFCA, which is made up of critics working in Los Angeles in print and electronic media, also threw their support behind Adam Driver (Paterson) for Best Actor, an usual but worthy choice that should help advance his odds at earning a Best Actor Oscar nomination.

LAFCA previously announced Shirley MacLaine has earned their Career Achievement Award and will receive the award along with all of this year’s winners during the January 14, 2017 awards dinner in Century City, CA.

Winner: Moonlight
Runner up: La La Land

Best Director
Winner: Barry Jenkins, Moonlight
Runner-Up: Damien Chazelle, La La Land

Best Actress
Winner: Isabelle Huppert, Elle and Things to Come
Runner-Up: Rebecca Hall, Christine

Best Actor
Winner: Adam Driver, Paterson
Runner-Up: Casey Affleck, Manchester By The Sea

Best Animated Film
Winner: Your Name
Runner-Up: The Red Turtle

Best Screenplay
Winner: Efthymis Filippou and Yorgos Lanthimos, The Lobster
Runner-Up: Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester By The Sea

Winner: I Am Not Your Negro
Runner-up: OJ: Made In America

Best Foreign-Language Film
Winner: The Handmaiden
Runner-Up: Toni Erdmann

Supporting Actress
Winner: Lily Gladstone, Certain Women
Runner-up: Michelle Williams, Manchester By The Sea

Winner: Bret Granato, Maya Mumma, Ben Sozanski, OJ: Made In America
Runner-up: Tom Cross, La La Land

Production Design
Winner: Ryu Seong-hee, The Handmaiden
Runner-up: David Wasco, La La Land

Supporting Actor
Winner: Mahershala Ali, Moonlight
Runner-up: Issey Ogata, Silence

Winner: Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, La La Land
Runner-up: Mica Levi, Jackie

Winner: James Laxton, Moonlight
Runner-up: Linus Sandgren, La La Land

The Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video Prize
Winner: The Illinois Parables