Spirit Awards 2020 Nominations: The Lighthouse, Uncut Gems Top Nominees

The Lighthouse Robert Pattinson
Willem Dafoe and Robert Pattinson star in ‘The Lighthouse’ (Photo Credit: A24)

The Lighthouse and Uncut Gems emerged as the top nominees for the 2020 Film Independent Spirit Awards, the annual celebration of the best in independent films. Both films received five nominations including Best Director, Best Editing, and Best Male Lead (Robert Pattinson for The Lighthouse and Adam Sandler for Uncut Gems). However, The Lighthouse won’t be competing against Uncut Gems in the Best Feature category. Instead, the top category is filled out by A Hidden Life, Clemency, The Farewell, and Marriage Story, along with Uncut Gems.

“The Film Independent Spirit Awards celebrate the best films of the year – films characterized by creative independence and original, provocative subject matter, as well as diversity, innovation and uniqueness of vision,” stated Film Independent President Josh Welsh. “At a time when the film business is undergoing such change and challenges, it’s important to loudly celebrate the work itself – the films! – and to recognize 2019 as a year of bold, audacious and accomplished filmmaking. That’s what the Spirit Awards are all about.”

Winners will be announced during a ceremony held on the Santa Monica beach on Saturday, February 8, 2020. IFC will broadcast the awards show beginning at 2pm PT/5pm ET.

2020 Film Independent Spirit Award Nominees:

    A Hidden Life
    The Farewell
    Marriage Story
    Uncut Gems

    The Climb
    The Last Black Man in San Francisco
    The Mustang
    See You Yesterday

    JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD – Given to the best feature made for under $500,000 (Award given to the writer, director and producer. Executive Producers are not awarded.)

    Burning Cane
    Give Me Liberty
    Wild Nights With Emily

    Alma Har’el – Honey Boy
    Lorene Scafaria – Hustlers
    Julius Onah – Luce
    Robert Eggers – The Lighthouse
    Benny Safdie, Josh Safdie – Uncut Gems

    Noah Baumbach – Marriage Story
    Jason Begue, Shawn Snyder – To Dust
    Ronald Bronstein, Benny Safdie, Josh Safdie – Uncut Gems
    Chinonye Chukwu – Clemency
    Tarell Alvin McCraney – High Flying Bird

    Fredrica Bailey, Stefon Bristol – See You Yesterday
    Hannah Bos, Paul Thureen – Driveways
    Bridget Savage Cole, Danielle Krudy – Blow the Man Down
    Jocelyn DeBoer, Dawn Luebbe – Greener Grass
    James Montague, Craig W. Sanger – The Vast of Night

    Todd Banhazl – Hustlers
    Jarin Blaschke – The Lighthouse
    Natasha Braier – Honey Boy
    Chananun Chotrungroj – The Third Wife
    Pawel Pogorzelski – Midsommar

    Julie Béziau – The Third Wife
    Ronald Bronstein, Benny Safdie – Uncut Gems
    Tyler L. Cook – Sword of Trust
    Louise Ford – The Lighthouse
    Kirill Mikhanovsky – Give Me Liberty

    Karen Allen – Colewell
    Hong Chau – Driveways
    Elisabeth Moss – Her Smell
    Mary Kay Place – Diane
    Alfre Woodard – Clemency
    Renée Zellweger – Judy

    Chris Galust – Give Me Liberty
    Kelvin Harrison Jr. – Luce
    Robert Pattinson – The Lighthouse
    Matthias Schoenaerts – The Mustang
    Adam Sandler – Uncut Gems

    Jennifer Lopez – Hustlers
    Taylor Russell – Waves
    Lauren “Lolo” Spencer – Give Me Liberty
    Octavia Spencer – Luce
    Zhao Shuzhen – The Farewell

    Willem Dafoe – The Lighthouse
    Noah Jupe – Honey Boy
    Shia LaBeouf – Honey Boy
    Jonathan Majors – The Last Black Man in San Francisco
    Wendell Pierce – Burning Cane

    ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – Given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast

    Marriage Story
    Director: Noah Baumbach
    Casting Directors: Douglas Aibel, Francine Maisler
    Ensemble Cast: Alan Alda, Laura Dern, Adam Driver, Julie Hagerty, Scarlett Johansson,
    Ray Liotta, Azhy Robertson, Merritt Wever

    American Factory
    Apollo 11
    For Sama
    Island of the Hungry Ghosts

    Invisible Life (Brazil)
    Les Misérables (France)
    Parasite (South Korea)
    Portrait of a Lady on Fire (France)
    Retablo (Peru)
    The Souvenir (United Kingdom)

BONNIE AWARD – Bonnie Tiburzi Caputo joined American Airlines in 1973 at age 24, becoming the first female pilot to fly for a major U.S. airline. In her honor, the third Bonnie Award will recognize a mid-career female director with a $50,000 unrestricted grant, sponsored by American Airlines.

Marielle Heller
Kelly Reichardt
Lulu Wang

PRODUCERS AWARD – The 23rd annual Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Mollye Asher
Krista Parris
Ryan Zacarias

SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 26th annual Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Rashaad Ernesto Green
Director of Premature

Ash Mayfair
Director of The Third Wife

Joe Talbot
Director of The Last Black Man in San Francisco

TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 25th annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Khalik Allah
Director of Black Mother

Davy Rothbart
Director of 17 Blocks

Nadia Shihab
Director of Jaddoland

Erick Stoll & Chase Whiteside
Director of América