2017 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Nominees Include Pearl Jam, Journey and Depeche Mode

Pearl Jam Hall of Fame
Pearl Jam (Photo Credit: Glen E. Friedman)

The 19 artists/groups nominated for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame include Pearl Jam, Journey, Depeche Mode, The Cars, and Janet Jackson. The 2017 inductees will be revealed in December and are determined by the 800 artists, historians, and music industry members who make up the international voting body. According to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, nominees are judged based on their musical influence, body of work, and depth of their careers.

All Rock & Rock Hall of Fame nominees must have released their first single or album at least 25 years ago. Pearl Jam and Tupac Shakur just became eligible this year, and Bad Brains, Depeche Mode, Electric Light Orchestra, Jane’s Addiction, Joan Baez, Journey, and Steppenwolf made it onto the short list this year for the first time.

Fans can once again participate in the voting process as part of the special fans ballot. Per the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame: “Beginning October 18 and continuing through 11:59 p.m. EST on December 5, 2016, fans can visit rockhall.com to cast votes for who they believe to be most deserving of induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. The top five artists, as selected by the public, will comprise a “fans’ ballot” that will be tallied along with the other ballots to choose the 2017 inductees. Fans will need to login with a Facebook account or email to vote. Voting is capped at one ballot per day.”

2017 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Nominees:

    Bad Brains
    Chaka Khan
    Depeche Mode
    Electric Light Orchestra
    J. Geils Band
    Jane’s Addiction
    Janet Jackson
    Joan Baez
    Joe Tex
    Pearl Jam
    The Cars
    The Zombies
    Tupac Shakur