Alliance of Women Film Journalists 2019 Award Winners: ‘Roma’ Scores 5 Wins

Alliance of Women Film Journalists - Roma
Marco Graf as Pepe, Daniela Demesa as Sofi, Yalitza Aparicio as Cleo, Marina De Tavira as Sofia, Diego Cortina Autrey as Toño, and Carlos Peralta Jacobson in ‘Roma’ (Photo by Carlos Somonte)

Roma earned top honors from the Alliance of Women Film Journalists* (AWFJ), collecting five wins including Best Film. The compelling drama also won in the Best Director (Alfonso Cuaron), Best Non-English Language Film, Best Editing, and Best Cinematography categories.

The period comedy The Favourite also proved to be popular with AWFJ members. Olivia Colman’s performance earned her the group’s Best Actress award and the film picked up Bravest Performance, Best Original Screenplay, and Best Woman Screenwriter wins.

Black Panther and Can You Ever Forgive Me? won multiple awards, and the AWFJ recognized Won’t You Be My Neighbor? directed by Morgan Neville as 2018’s Best Documentary.

“Representing women film critics’ perspectives on the world’s constantly evolving cinema scene, the Alliance of Women Film Journalists is proud that our 2018 EDA Awards nominees and winners genuinely reflect the movie industry’s advances in the cause of equality and diversity,” said Jennifer Merin, EDA AWARDS and AWJF founder and film critic. “Our EDA Awards always honor the year’s best regardless of gender, but we also recognize the need to have categories that focus specifically on women’s achievements in an industry that still has a long way to go to reach gender parity and equal opportunity for all.”

Merin added, “All in all, 2018 produced a bumper crop of female-directed and female-centered films. Too few of them reached the mainstream, but we hope that AWFJ and the EDA Awards can help to rush such films into the current.”

Alliance of Women Film Journalists Awards Winners:

    Best Film


    Best Director

    Alfonso Cuaron – ROMA

    Best Screenplay, Original

    THE FAVOURITE – Deborah Davis, Tony McNamara 

    Best Screenplay, Adapted
    CAN YOU EVER FORGIVE ME? – Nicole Holofcener, Jeff White

    Best Documentary
    WON’T YOU BE MY NEIGHBOR? – Morgan Neville

    Best Animated Film

    SPIDER-MAN INTO SPIDER-VERSE – Bob Persichetti, Peter Ramsay, Rodney Rothman 

    Best Actress
    Olivia Colman – THE FAVOURITE

    Best Actress in a Supporting Role

    Best Actor

    Ethan Hawke – FIRST REFORMED

    Best Actor in a Supporting Road
    Richard E Grant – CAN YOU EVER FORGIVE ME? 

    Best Ensemble Cast
    BLACK PANTHER – Sarah Finn, Casting Director

    Best Cinematography
    ROMA – Alfonso Cuaron

    Best Editing
    ROMA – Alfonso Cuaron, Adam Gough 

    Best Non-English-Language Film

    ROMA – Alfonso Cuaron (Mexico)

EDA FEMALE FOCUS AWARDS (These awards honor women)

    Best Woman Director

    Marielle Heller – CAN YOU EVER FORGIVE ME? 

    Best Woman Screenwriter
    Deborah Davis – THE FAVOURITE

    Best Animated Female
    Elastagirl – Holly Hunter, INCREDIBLES 2

    Best Breakthrough Performance

    Thomasin McKenzie – LEAVE NO TRACE

    Outstanding Achievement by A Woman in The Film Industry

    Rachel Morrison – For paving the road for women cinematographers with her Oscar nomination for Mudbound and scoring as DP on Black Panther.


    Actress Defying Age and Ageism
    Viola Davis – WIDOWS

    Bravest Performance
    Olivia Colman – THE FAVOURITE 

    Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent

    Jennifer Lawrence – RED SPARROW

    Most Egregious Age Difference Between The Lead and The Love Interest Award

    MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE – FALLOUT – Tom Cruise and Rebecca Ferguson

    Remake or Sequel That Shouldn’t Have Been Made


    AWFJ Hall of Shame Award
    ALL ALLEGED ABUSERS: Including Weinstein, Moonves, CK, Spacey, Rush, Franco, Singer, Rose, Lauer et al.

* – I am a member of the Alliance of Women Film Journalists